Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
The use of blue cheese is so unique and great for a different take on butternut squash vs. the usual additions of brown sugar, honey, etc. It definitely adds that blue cheese bite so be sure you are a blue cheese fan before attempting. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Nice hearty vegetarian dish. Used feta as per other suggestions. I did not have Italian bread on hand, so used a bland old dry loaf I had lying around and threw in some oregano and sage too for more flavor - really glad I did this, the oregano really made the finished dish perfect. Gave four stars instead of five simply because the recipe is a bit bland but overall is a good dish... just feels like there's something missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Oh my gosh my 2 favorite things butternut squash & blue cheese! This was sooo good!! Thank you for sharing, this will be a new staple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was amazing! I had never cooked with butternut squash before, but had enjoyed eating it the couple times I had tried it. The only part that sucks is peeling/cutting the squash up. It's totally worth all the work though :D This is a unique recipe and all my guests REALLY REALLY enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Very good - I left out the cheese (I couldn't find vegetarian bleu cheese...and yes, not all cheese is vegetarian! ;) but, otherwise, made it as stated and was happy with it. I mashed it up and mixed with some basmati rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I made a simplified version by omitting the breadcrumbs and subbed sage for thyme. For pretty colors, I used red onions instead of yellow. The spirit of the dish is still intact! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I loved this! I used what I had on hand, so feta instead of blue cheese and added Italian seasoning to plain bread crumbs. It still turned out really nicely and I will definitely be making it again. I think the saltiness of the blue cheese will be nice instead of the milder feta, but you probably can't go wrong either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Tasty, next time I would of add a tad bit more cheese. I am blue cheese lover. My son, Quinn who is 11; is not, I will try the feta suggestion. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannabeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is amazing! I added chicken to use it as a main course. I didn't have Italian bread crumbs so I just added a little oregano and basil to the mix. Family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Our house is Gluten-Fee, so I subbed ground up tortilla chips for breadcrumbs, and used Parmesean Cheese, since it is all I had. ( I also skimped a little on the olive oil, since I didn't think 1/4 Cup was necessary) Awesome dish!! The guests were fighting for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States