Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Last week I bought butternut squash for the first time and I had no clue what to use it for. So I came to allrecipes and found this recipe. I am so happy I did. This recipe was awesome. My husband tends not to like pumpkin or sweet potatoes so I was leary about putting in too much butternut squash thinking it may have similar texture, so I only used 2lbs pre-cut cubes and kept the rest of the recipes ingredients the same. Having never had "bns" before, I have to say I absolutely loved it, and am now planning on making this to go along with our Thanksgiving day menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
YUM! Mixed with white rice, made an excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingpapa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Too much thyme not enough blue cheese. Still good. Just a matter of taste I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyann
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Being a vegan, I left out the cheese, and added a supermarket container of sliced mushrooms, a cup of walnuts, and a teaspoon of cinnamon. wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was very delicious! I followed everything step by step the only thing I didn't use was the Blue or Feta cheese, instead I took a bar of Kraft Colby & Monterey Jack cheese, shredded 6 oz. (3/4 cups). I didn't have fresh thyme, so only used 2 tsp. dried thyme flakes. Everything came out very tasty and moist. TY for this recipe it is a keeper :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eve

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I substituted finely chopped almonds instead of the bread crumbs to make this more low-carb and it still turned out great. I also used crumbled feta instead of blue cheese because that's all I had on hand. I served this as a main dish and my family loved it. Will definitely make this a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthycookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This dish is delicious! I used feta cheese instead of blue cheese, shallots instead of onions, 2 cups of butternut squash and 2 cups of russet potatoes and baked the dish for an additional 15 minutes. Also has great flavor with or without the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
very tasty,,Husband loved,,will make for thanksgiving for sure,,also shaved fresh parm on top,,and few pieces of butter spread around,,YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I used a dry crumble feta with whole wheat bread crumbs. First time my boyfriend has EVER loved squash. It was sooo good. I'm totally adding this to my regular side dish rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Doyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I gave it 5 stars because my husband actually admitted to liking it and took seconds! It is good; I do like the slightly sweet squash flavor with the feta (I had no blue cheese). We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States