Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was incredible. Even the picky eaters in my family loved it! I had to make another batch because it was gone so quickly. I normally don't really like turnips but I was given several pounds of them and had to find something to do with them. I will now go out of my way to acquire turnips just for this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Really good. I doubled the recipe and used extra squash and turnips because it seemed silly to stick a cup or so of each back in the fridge to go bad. I didn't have any celery but nobody missed it. Added a little bit of turmeric and garam masala to ramp up the curry flavour and pureed the whole pot with a stick blender. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Amazing! I added cream cheese and pureed it. We ate it with rosemary bread. My 3 and 1 year old even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
First off... I think I have "reviewed" maybe one other recipe in all the years I have belonged to allrecipes... and I look at recipes everyday... we are a large family of 10... so I cant say I followed it to a t...hehehe I filled my large stock pot! I followed advice from others and pureed it towards the end... and I added a pkg of cream cheese to the stock... everyone liked it... even my 2 yr old... We grow 80% of our food so it was a great way to use up winter squash and turnips... and rutabagas... lol nothing better than soup in the winter... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made this tonight and it was so good! It doesn't call for much cayenne pepper, but it was a bit spicy for my family so I will prob use less or omit it next time. Maybe use a little less pepper. I didn't put honey in i didn't think it needed the sweetness since the turnips are already sweet. Loved it and love the new use for turnips & squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Delicious! Perfect for solstice soup this year. I was out of butter, only used olive oil, and it was just fine. Also added about 1/4 cup heavy cream. I especially like the coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I used more butternut squash and turnips than called for, subbed vegetable stock for the chicken stock, and omitted the honey. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was amazing! I realized after I started, I didn't have all the spices and so followed another users suggestion of curry powder- I did about 1.5tsp for a large batch. I probably had 4c squash with 2c turnips and 1c carrots (just cause they needed to be used up). The squash soaked up the flavor amazingly! I will be making this again and will try it with the called for spices to see if it is much different. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This soup is absolutely delicious!!! Made it without celery, added a little curry powder as per a previous comment, and pureed it with some light sour cream! SO GOOD!!!! I will definitly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was the first time I have ever ENJOYED turnips! I didn't even measure anything, just threw it in and it was absolutely delicious! So, I ended up using a whole squash (didn't measure out 2 c). I also didn't heat the broth separately or add the salt. Sweet and tangy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States