Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was the first time I have ever ENJOYED turnips! I didn't even measure anything, just threw it in and it was absolutely delicious! So, I ended up using a whole squash (didn't measure out 2 c). I also didn't heat the broth separately or add the salt. Sweet and tangy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I used more butternut squash and turnips than called for, subbed vegetable stock for the chicken stock, and omitted the honey. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made this tonight and it was so good! It doesn't call for much cayenne pepper, but it was a bit spicy for my family so I will prob use less or omit it next time. Maybe use a little less pepper. I didn't put honey in i didn't think it needed the sweetness since the turnips are already sweet. Loved it and love the new use for turnips & squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Really good. I doubled the recipe and used extra squash and turnips because it seemed silly to stick a cup or so of each back in the fridge to go bad. I didn't have any celery but nobody missed it. Added a little bit of turmeric and garam masala to ramp up the curry flavour and pureed the whole pot with a stick blender. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Amazing! I added cream cheese and pureed it. We ate it with rosemary bread. My 3 and 1 year old even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was incredible. Even the picky eaters in my family loved it! I had to make another batch because it was gone so quickly. I normally don't really like turnips but I was given several pounds of them and had to find something to do with them. I will now go out of my way to acquire turnips just for this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
First off... I think I have "reviewed" maybe one other recipe in all the years I have belonged to allrecipes... and I look at recipes everyday... we are a large family of 10... so I cant say I followed it to a t...hehehe I filled my large stock pot! I followed advice from others and pureed it towards the end... and I added a pkg of cream cheese to the stock... everyone liked it... even my 2 yr old... We grow 80% of our food so it was a great way to use up winter squash and turnips... and rutabagas... lol nothing better than soup in the winter... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was amazing! I realized after I started, I didn't have all the spices and so followed another users suggestion of curry powder- I did about 1.5tsp for a large batch. I probably had 4c squash with 2c turnips and 1c carrots (just cause they needed to be used up). The squash soaked up the flavor amazingly! I will be making this again and will try it with the called for spices to see if it is much different. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Delicious! Perfect for solstice soup this year. I was out of butter, only used olive oil, and it was just fine. Also added about 1/4 cup heavy cream. I especially like the coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This soup is absolutely delicious!!! Made it without celery, added a little curry powder as per a previous comment, and pureed it with some light sour cream! SO GOOD!!!! I will definitly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States