Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I used more butternut squash and turnips than called for, subbed vegetable stock for the chicken stock, and omitted the honey. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was the first time I have ever ENJOYED turnips! I didn't even measure anything, just threw it in and it was absolutely delicious! So, I ended up using a whole squash (didn't measure out 2 c). I also didn't heat the broth separately or add the salt. Sweet and tangy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made this tonight and it was so good! It doesn't call for much cayenne pepper, but it was a bit spicy for my family so I will prob use less or omit it next time. Maybe use a little less pepper. I didn't put honey in i didn't think it needed the sweetness since the turnips are already sweet. Loved it and love the new use for turnips & squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Amazing! I added cream cheese and pureed it. We ate it with rosemary bread. My 3 and 1 year old even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was incredible. Even the picky eaters in my family loved it! I had to make another batch because it was gone so quickly. I normally don't really like turnips but I was given several pounds of them and had to find something to do with them. I will now go out of my way to acquire turnips just for this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I had leftover butternut squash and a turnip from other recipes and stumbled upon this one. I have to say I wasn't too sure as I prepared it but I did enjoy this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
My grandson is on a very low carb diet and we tried this soup for him. It was a hit with mom and granny, too. We didn't have all ingredients, so used curry powder instead. Next time, tho I'll cut down on the oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I've made this soup twice, and personally enjoyed it both times. Very satisfying and comforting for the cold weather season. First time, subbed veg stock (low sodium, boxed) used half the turnip, and added the equivalent amount of carrots, and added a little heavy cream . Everyone who tried it loved it. The second time I followed the recipe more closely as written, with the exception of adding some carrots and using sour cream as one reviewer suggested. This second try didn't get the rave reviews: some thought the turnip was overpowering the other flavors. I will try again with the veg stock to see if that offsets the stronger turnip flavor. That said, I personally love the turnip flavor, but I think the veg stock might be better. I'll update my review at that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This soup is absolutely delicious!!! Made it without celery, added a little curry powder as per a previous comment, and pureed it with some light sour cream! SO GOOD!!!! I will definitly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Delicious! Perfect for solstice soup this year. I was out of butter, only used olive oil, and it was just fine. Also added about 1/4 cup heavy cream. I especially like the coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States