Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was the first time I have ever ENJOYED turnips! I didn't even measure anything, just threw it in and it was absolutely delicious! So, I ended up using a whole squash (didn't measure out 2 c). I also didn't heat the broth separately or add the salt. Sweet and tangy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I used more butternut squash and turnips than called for, subbed vegetable stock for the chicken stock, and omitted the honey. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made this tonight and it was so good! It doesn't call for much cayenne pepper, but it was a bit spicy for my family so I will prob use less or omit it next time. Maybe use a little less pepper. I didn't put honey in i didn't think it needed the sweetness since the turnips are already sweet. Loved it and love the new use for turnips & squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Really good. I doubled the recipe and used extra squash and turnips because it seemed silly to stick a cup or so of each back in the fridge to go bad. I didn't have any celery but nobody missed it. Added a little bit of turmeric and garam masala to ramp up the curry flavour and pureed the whole pot with a stick blender. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I had both turnips and rutabagas that needed to be used, and they were great in this recipe! I roasted the squash first (cut in half, flesh-side down on a cookie sheet, 45 min. at 375) which made a thicker base. And I omitted the honey. Not as good as "Butternut Squash Soup" also on this site, but definitely healthier without the cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
4 stars! Good use for turnips and chock full of healthy ingredients. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
My grandson is on a very low carb diet and we tried this soup for him. It was a hit with mom and granny, too. We didn't have all ingredients, so used curry powder instead. Next time, tho I'll cut down on the oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great soup for a cold rainy day here in Dublin. Was nice with the cayenne pepper to give it a little kick, but I might try blending it next time and using some cream to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by todlambe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Amazing! I added cream cheese and pureed it. We ate it with rosemary bread. My 3 and 1 year old even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I had leftover butternut squash and a turnip from other recipes and stumbled upon this one. I have to say I wasn't too sure as I prepared it but I did enjoy this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States