Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I love this recipe! I have made it once with squash and once with sweet potato and both times the recipe turned out lovely. I'm always trying to find ways to use turnips and this is a keeper. My only suggestion is to try pureeing this once the veggies are soft as it blends all of the wonderful flavours together. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I can't really comment on THIS recipe, because I inadvertently used parsnips instead of turnips. (That's how my brain works (or doesn't) lol) But this was the best soup I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennie Marie Davidson
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I had some leftover roasted veggies with squash, parsnips, potatoes, carrots, red onions and rosemary in the freezer. After adding the regular veggies, I sauteed those up in a little more butter in the same pan and plopped it right in. The flavors on the bottom of the saute pan did not go to waste. That pan was deglazed with some liquid from the simmering stock and put back in. I didn't have enough chicken stock, so I used vegetable stock and added Organic Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base. That was salty enough. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Marie Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Great soup! I didn't have any celery on hand, so I substituted about 3 Tbs. of fresh parsley. (I know - a weird substitution, but it worked really well!) After cooking, I removed about 1/4 of the soup, then pureed the rest, and put the removed part of the soup back in. (That way there were a few chunks of veggies, but the smooth, creamy puree was still there.) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freedominwordz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I like this recipe. The turnips help balance the sweetness of the butternut squash plus the chicken stock gives the soup a heartiness that is great for chilly winter days. I don't typically like butternut squash soups because they are too sweet, so this is a really good option. Plus it's a great way to use excess turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I just add the chicken stock to the pot, add some heavy cream, and blend with an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Yummy! Would strongly recommend -even if you don't like turnip or squash!! (I am not fond of turnip). I didnt measure the veggies - I was given a big squash and a few turnips from a neighbours garden (used 1/2 of the large squash, whole small turnip). Also used fresh from the garden spanish and sweet red onion. Omitted the honey, but did use all the spices. Also threw in a bit of chili powder, and red chili peppers. Pureed with sour cream once all veggies were softened. Amazing! Cooked in a crock pot for ease, then pureed with hand blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I have made this several times. Sooooo good. I kick it up a bit more with crushed red pepper but it is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I prefer straight up butternut squash soup over this but it wasn't bad. Even though I added at least an extra cup of squash, the parsnips muted it, not just in color, but in flavor too. It was quite bland and really needed the optional salt and I also added about 1/2 teaspoon curry powder to give it a flavor boost. I used my immersion blender to puree it. The recipe really should include this step. However, if you are looking for a way to use up parsnips for some reason - this would work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was just okay for us. I even added a little more cayenne but it was very bland. I followed other reviewers suggestions and pureed the soup an added a little cream. Still didn''t do it for us. Sorry. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States