Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I made it with acorn squash instead of butternut, black beans instead of kidney, a few large sprigs of rosemary, and added the allspice. I definitely second the allspice idea, and would personally add more squash next time. Wonderfully non-traditional chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I softened the squash for 15 mins in the oven at 400 degrees before peeling. I did agree that it needed to be cut into 1/2" pieces. I did boil the squash seperately for 10 mins to ensure it got soft. This lacked flavor so I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and it made it closer to 5 stars. I really enjoyed the squash and did not find it too sweet. I used tomato sauce as directed and it worked fine. I did not feel the broth needed to be increased. The hominy worked perfectly. I cut down the cumin to 1/2 TBS and it was still pretty potent. With adjustments this is worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I doubled everything except the squash, chilies and diced tomatoes (I only had one can). I also used pinto beans instead of hominy. I added some cilantro as well. It came out great - even my kids ate it (including the squash which they thought were potatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I initially cocked an eyebrow @ the butternut squash element. Well, shame on me. I've never had a better experience with the vegetable. (and, I've eaten my fair share of it) WOW! This is a favorite for me. Kudos! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Wow, delicioius. Left out hominy and added chopped bell pepper. But neither were responsible for the fabulous taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The entire family loved this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Good, didn't use the hominy, just more white kidney beans which I rinsed and used more chicken broth to compensate. As per another reviewer, used tomato paste instead of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
this was wonderful! i used about a pound and a half of shredded leftover roast turkey from a certain holiday meal and cut some corn off the cob to replace the hominy. also i didnt have green chilies, kidney beans or tomato sauce so i subbed chopped bell pepper, a can of great northern beans and an extra can of diced tomatoes. my family was in fear of too much cumin, so i cut that in half and it was perfect. i know it sounds like alot of changes, but its not too far from the original, i promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is a pretty mild recipe, so if you like heat you will need to add some cayenne or chipotle. I roasted my diced squash in the oven and stirred them in at the last minute. They added a really nice bite of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe as is. I normally tweak recipes, but this is really good as it stands. The only thing I did differently is rinsed the beans instead of including the juice, and then added more chicken broth. I doubled the recipe and it made a lot! It doesn't have a ton of heat, so I added jalapeno slices on top for an extra kick. My new go to chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States