Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I doubled everything except the squash, chilies and diced tomatoes (I only had one can). I also used pinto beans instead of hominy. I added some cilantro as well. It came out great - even my kids ate it (including the squash which they thought were potatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I initially cocked an eyebrow @ the butternut squash element. Well, shame on me. I've never had a better experience with the vegetable. (and, I've eaten my fair share of it) WOW! This is a favorite for me. Kudos! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Wow, delicioius. Left out hominy and added chopped bell pepper. But neither were responsible for the fabulous taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The entire family loved this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Good, didn't use the hominy, just more white kidney beans which I rinsed and used more chicken broth to compensate. As per another reviewer, used tomato paste instead of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
this was wonderful! i used about a pound and a half of shredded leftover roast turkey from a certain holiday meal and cut some corn off the cob to replace the hominy. also i didnt have green chilies, kidney beans or tomato sauce so i subbed chopped bell pepper, a can of great northern beans and an extra can of diced tomatoes. my family was in fear of too much cumin, so i cut that in half and it was perfect. i know it sounds like alot of changes, but its not too far from the original, i promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is a pretty mild recipe, so if you like heat you will need to add some cayenne or chipotle. I roasted my diced squash in the oven and stirred them in at the last minute. They added a really nice bite of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe as is. I normally tweak recipes, but this is really good as it stands. The only thing I did differently is rinsed the beans instead of including the juice, and then added more chicken broth. I doubled the recipe and it made a lot! It doesn't have a ton of heat, so I added jalapeno slices on top for an extra kick. My new go to chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was easy to make and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My whole family loves this recipe. We cook it in a crock pot, and don't really measure anything, just kind of throw it all together. It disappears really fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States