Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Terrific recipe. Served with Grandma's cornbread from this site. Filling & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I love this recipe! I have been looking for something to use my home canned butternut squash in besides another sweet soup and this was excellent. Good flavor, very filling with the hominy and beans. The only change I made was I used black beans and drained them - otherwise, I made it as published. I served it with a little grated cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I make this chili and think it is fantastic. It has a great bright flavor just as it is. I sometimes use corn instead of hominy and I like the lighter taste of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
OMG! This might be the best chili I have ever eaten! I'm not sure I would call it chili but whatever you call it it is wonderful! I made a very few changes per readers suggestions by using allspice(which I must say really adds a lovely flavor to this dish!), I also used a can of pureed sweet potatoes as a thickener & I used canned tomatoes with chilies in it, I also caramelized some of the squash just because I thought it would be yummy - other than that I followed the directions as written. I will be serving this to company tomorrow evening .... hope they love it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Great recipe! thanks for sharing. I read all the reviews before actually cooking & decided that concensus was to add 'more flavour through spices' When buying the diced toamtoes, I chose to use Alymer's flavours (ie: garlic & olive oil OR Roasted red peppers, etc) I took the advice of using a tomato paste instead of the sauce.... which was a great suggestion for added thickness....in fact I used an herb infused tomato paste! For me, you can never have enough garlic...I added some extra garlic also (can use roasted for a more robust flavour also!) to perfect this the next time I make it, I will be adding 2 lbs of ground turkey, instead of only 1 ENJOY!! OHHHH I also added yellow Zucchini ....so this recipe is a great spot for extra veggies in fridge that need to be used :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have ground turkey so I used Italian sausage instead. It turned out great. Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Loved it! I didn't have any hominy so I threw a can of butter beans in there instead. Was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Wow, easy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made this two weeks in a row because it is satisfying and warming. I did add black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Great mix of ingredients! I didn't think that I liked ground Turkey before this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States