Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
A good basic chili, but you can't even taste the butternut squash. Big waste of a delicious squash. I would recommend just adding a second can of beans for filler. You'll save a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Best recipe EVER an all time favorite in our house. Love it just as is although I am heavy handed with the seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Added a can of black beans in addition to the kidney beans. More garlic, doubled the chili powder, and added 2 Tsp. chipotle powder. Used a can of jalapenos instead of green chilis for more heat. Used a can of corn instead of hominy. Served with jalapeno corn bread. Healthy when made with ground turkey, but I think it would be REALLY tasty with ground beef. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very different chili recipe. Followed the recipe except I added some parsnips and a carrot. Very delicious. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great addition to plain chili! I was looking to spiff up the Trader Joes turkey chili, and butternut squash was just the thing. I added many of the other ingredients as well. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Fantastic. I added a bit of cinnamon and cocoa powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Amazing! Made it paleo by omitting all of the beans and hominy and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Really enjoyed this. The only change I made was to cut the squash into 1/2" pieces (and I'm glad I did!) and omit the hominy because I didn't have any. Healthy and tasty! Served with cornbread, yummy! I liked another reviewer's advice about draining the kidney beans and replacing the juice with more chicken stock. I'll do that next time because I usually drain and rinse canned veggies before adding to a recipe. Thanks for sharing! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This dish is easy to make, healthy and delicious! I didn't change the recipe at all. I will be making it a lot this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious! I substituted frozen corn for the hominy and fresh green bell pepper for the canned green chilis. I also used veggie broth instead of chicken broth because I had it on hand. I had frozen chunks of butternut squash from another recipe, so it took a bit longer to cook. The recipe turned out great and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States