Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was a great recipe...full of flavor and very healthy! Instead of buying separate cans of green chile peppers and diced tomatos I just used two cans of diced tomatos with green chiles. I also added some all spice per others suggestions. I cooked it on a low simmer for about an hour, this allowed the flavors to really come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Family really enjoyed this one! I did use yellow hominy and chili beans instead of kidney and then reduced the amount of chili powder by about 1/3. Served with cheese and crackers but normally would have made corn meal muffins. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed this chili but made many changes based on previous reviewers. Here they are: I precooked the butternut squash at 400 for about 15 minutes before adding it to the soup. 1 can of corn instead of hominy. Added allspice, oregano, and more chili powder to taste. Added a bay leaf. 1 c. chicken broth (instead of 1/2). 2 diced fresh tomatoes instead of canned. 3 cloves garlic (instead of 2). No chilies. 1/2 T. cumin. Used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. To cut the sodium, I rinsed and drained the corn and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I substituted 1 can of black beans and 1 can of pinto beans for the Kidney beans. I also used diced tomatoes with jalapenos that I found at Kroger. I only used one can of tomato sauce. I used to small cans of green chiles. This was FABULOUS! Even my picky 8 year old loved it! I served it with shredded jack cheese, sour cream, and crushed corn chips. This is my newest favorite recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefGinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Have made this using sweet potatoes instead of butternut squash with excellent results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is so yummy. My husband, kids and I love it. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this recipe and it is a regular for my family. I use more squash just because I have it and a little more cumin, love the flavor. Great meal especially for a cold day and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This came out great! I made it last night and did not have all the ingredients on hand and it was still delicious. Instead of hominy I used a can of corn and also had no onion so sprinkled in some onion powder- It was DELICOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious! I didn't follow this to the tee.. because my squash is huge! but I used specifically pasilla chili - it will give a nice warm kick! Don't worry, cook it a bit longer the squash will neutralize it and a bit of sugar will do the trick. I add black bean also in addition to the kidney bean, and instead of hominy i added corn almost at the end. The result is so yummy and warm. It's warm and good for winter. The squash melts in your mouth and you get the nice crunchy sweetness of the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Delicious! I added black beans and it was fantastic! I also added some jalapenos and used fire roasted canned tomoatoes to add a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States