Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this recipe basically as written. I didn't have hominy (didn't even know what it was), so I used corn and I added a little more chicken broth...it came out delicious! I thought the seasonings were perfect and the house smelled wonderful! This recipe is great! I have never cooked with butternut squash...I'm so glad I found this recipe. I will make it again...and again...thanks for the wonderful recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Amazing! I did make a few adjustments. I used Whole Foods andouille chicken sausage and added a red pepper instead of the can of peppers. I topped it with guacamole and white cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
So good! I only made minor changes due to what I had on hand so beef stock was used and I added some red wine too, it gave it an extra umph. I also roasted the squash for a short time with salt, cinnamon, and allspice which gave it a little sweet with the spice. I have gad it twice in a row for lunch its so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I added 1 1/2 TBS of All Spice and 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I followed the other person's suggestion about throwing the squash in the oven and cutting the squash smaller. I wish I would have cooked it even longer because I let it simmer for 50 minutes and the squash still wasn't very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Simple and delicious! Been wanting new recipes for butternut squash and this is great! Since I didn't have kidney beans and hominy in pantry I fortunately has a can of southwestern bean salad. It has black beans, corn, hominy, and kidney beans all in one can! Awesome. Highly recommend trying this super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was a nice twist on chili. I changed it just a bit, omitting salt, hominy and garlic salt. Added green peppers, used only 1 can to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Very Good. I made as written with the exception of the beans (I used black beans). I love that it is Healthy and taste delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Delicious! Great way to use butternut squash. I added some sliced jalapenos for a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I left out the hominy due to eating grain free. I generally don't like chili, but this was delicious! Another keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great recipe and a nice change from the same ol' chili recipe. The only thing I'd change/add is some green, red, and/or yellow peppers. Other than that it's great just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States