Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I only changed a few things but this turned out seriously amazing. Love the sweetness from the butternut squash. I don't think I can go back to normal chili after this. Changes I made were, seasoning the meat with crushed garlic, garlic salt and cooked onions and a little bit of the chili and cumin. And a pinch of sage and nutmeg to make it more sausage-y. Then I added the remaining ingredients to a crock pot and cooked on high for 4 hours or so. Also I used hunts petite cut tomatoes but they had a mild jalapeño flavor that I've never seen before and it really made a nice addition to this. I didn't have hominy either so I sub-ed for white beans. So good, will def make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annmarie Salvagni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This chili is delicious! I adjusted some of the seasoning by adding chili flakes, Tony Chachere's and a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMrsBranch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Used Navy and Cannelloni beans instead. This is amazing and I have plenty of leftovers. Very easy to prepare as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this recipe basically as written. I didn't have hominy (didn't even know what it was), so I used corn and I added a little more chicken broth...it came out delicious! I thought the seasonings were perfect and the house smelled wonderful! This recipe is great! I have never cooked with butternut squash...I'm so glad I found this recipe. I will make it again...and again...thanks for the wonderful recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Amazing! I did make a few adjustments. I used Whole Foods andouille chicken sausage and added a red pepper instead of the can of peppers. I topped it with guacamole and white cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I love this recipe!! it's so somple and full of flavor and color. It is food porn at its best lol. the only changes i made was added 2 kinds of beans due to not having corn or hominy. I also add allspice as someone else suggested because it really does bring it all together. Its now a go to for parties and dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I added 1 1/2 TBS of All Spice and 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I followed the other person's suggestion about throwing the squash in the oven and cutting the squash smaller. I wish I would have cooked it even longer because I let it simmer for 50 minutes and the squash still wasn't very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Simple and delicious! Been wanting new recipes for butternut squash and this is great! Since I didn't have kidney beans and hominy in pantry I fortunately has a can of southwestern bean salad. It has black beans, corn, hominy, and kidney beans all in one can! Awesome. Highly recommend trying this super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was a nice twist on chili. I changed it just a bit, omitting salt, hominy and garlic salt. Added green peppers, used only 1 can to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Very Good. I made as written with the exception of the beans (I used black beans). I love that it is Healthy and taste delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States