Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jenvalese
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I made mine in the crock pot... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I used black beans instead of kidney and omitted the hominy. Delicious, healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Great low calorie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Mauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
It's a really good and simple recipe, I make a double batch and freeze it for later use. I find shredding Gruyere Cheese over the final product when serving adds a great nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Yumm! To up the spice level, I added smoked paprika, cayenne pepper and roasted the butternut squash first. Then, to balance that out, served with some fresh squeezed lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Quite tasty. Even my 8-yr old who does not like a lot said, "Yum!" Also very straightforward to make. The only changes I'd make are adding a bit more broth to make it soupier (1 c total), a bit more meat, like 1.5# total, and a bit more spices, like adding 1 T of Ancho chili powder and a few dashes of Buffalo Tabasco Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I only changed a few things but this turned out seriously amazing. Love the sweetness from the butternut squash. I don't think I can go back to normal chili after this. Changes I made were, seasoning the meat with crushed garlic, garlic salt and cooked onions and a little bit of the chili and cumin. And a pinch of sage and nutmeg to make it more sausage-y. Then I added the remaining ingredients to a crock pot and cooked on high for 4 hours or so. Also I used hunts petite cut tomatoes but they had a mild jalapeño flavor that I've never seen before and it really made a nice addition to this. I didn't have hominy either so I sub-ed for white beans. So good, will def make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annmarie Salvagni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This chili is delicious! I adjusted some of the seasoning by adding chili flakes, Tony Chachere's and a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMrsBranch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Used Navy and Cannelloni beans instead. This is amazing and I have plenty of leftovers. Very easy to prepare as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this recipe basically as written. I didn't have hominy (didn't even know what it was), so I used corn and I added a little more chicken broth...it came out delicious! I thought the seasonings were perfect and the house smelled wonderful! This recipe is great! I have never cooked with butternut squash...I'm so glad I found this recipe. I will make it again...and again...thanks for the wonderful recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States