Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I was amazed at how well this turned out. this is a great autumn chili! I made a few changes based on what I had around. Instead of chilies, I just added one serrano pepper, and cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes to keep it spicy. I also added allspice, and it *really* brought everything together. i left out the tomatoes, added more beans (I don't like chunky tomato bits). really though, i really think the allspice made it FABULOUS. my boyfriend doesnt much care for ground turkey or squash, but he loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooknmama2
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was awesome! I forgot the chilis and omitted the hominy because I didn't have it, but it was still amazing. Next time I will try the hominy and serve the chilis as a garnish. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Great chili! I used the green chilies as a garnish instead of cooking them in the chili. I just used the squash I had and cooked up a pound of dry beans. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe. Made for our Home Church group and it was a big hit!! Flavors and textures blend beautifully. I served with brown rice. Thank you for a great recipe! I will be making this often this winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is a great autumn chili! Like most chilis I think it gets better the next day. The squash was a new and exciting addition to chili, and is very welcome. I added a dash of salt and pepper and a 1/2 teaspoon of oregano for my own personal tastes. I can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was a really good chili. I did make a few changes, but not too many. I left out the hominy (b/c I am not a fan) and I exchanged the kidney beans for black beans. For peppers, I used fresh Anaheim peppers. This was great fresh and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This chili is basically a miracle, thank you for posting the recipe! Delicious, incredibly healthy, and fast. Easily vegetarian and easily modified for different tastes. This is now one of my stand-bys for parties, potlucks, and just cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
We loved this!! This is my new favorite chili. The only alterations I made were leaving out the chilis and using leftover pureed butternut squash instead of cubed squash (much easier this way, too). This gave the chili a nice thick and smooth consistency. This was my first time using hominy; I really liked it. We'll definitely be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Amen! This was great and quick. I had to break down squash and hominy and cook it a little longer than the recipe but when it mixed together it was just special. Nice job! Cooking is all about taking chances and being creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this once and followed the recipe almost exactly. The only annoying part was peeling the butternut squash. I was pretty slow at it. The chili turned out fantastic, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bothpaninis
Home Town: Damascus, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States