Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe has so many delicious ingredients however it needs tweaking for them to come together and each flavor not stand out too much from the others. Next time I make this and I do want to try it again, I'll cut the squash into smaller pieces, increase the broth to about a cup, use tomato paste instead of tomato sauce and add more garlic and onion. I'll also try simmering it in my dutch oven a little longer too. One tip with the butternut: before you do anything pierce the skin of the squash a few times and put it in the oven at about 400* about the time the turkey is done browning you can take the squash out of the oven (it will be hot) and cut the skin off and chop much more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I was amazed at how well this turned out. this is a great autumn chili! I made a few changes based on what I had around. Instead of chilies, I just added one serrano pepper, and cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes to keep it spicy. I also added allspice, and it *really* brought everything together. i left out the tomatoes, added more beans (I don't like chunky tomato bits). really though, i really think the allspice made it FABULOUS. my boyfriend doesnt much care for ground turkey or squash, but he loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Excellent. The only changes I made were to use corn instead of hominy, just because that's what I had on hand, and I added some oregano. Great flavor, we really enjoyed it. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I like the idea of this chili but think the seasoning needs a little adjusting. I added a couple of bay leaves and some oregano and, if I make this again, I would cut back on the cumin probably by half. (One can always add more if it's not enough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
By my estimation this recipe is fantastic. I can't say for certain because of the changes I made. I used more garlic, 1 28oz jar of tomato sauce instead of the original tomato ingredients, I used leftover turkey instead of ground turkey, borrowed another reviewers suggestion to substitute canned corn for hominy, and I used freshly cooked beans instead of canned. I think the cumin- chili powder- garlic salt proportions are fine as is. It's got pep; however, it's a pleasant zing, not too pungent or hot. (Jalapenos are kinda hot for me. Habaneros are almost too hot for me to eat ever unless they are teamed up with something to counteract the capsicin. I say this to help define 'not too hot', the 'heat' level for this was like mild to medium salsa.) I had to extend the cooking time to account for the non canned beans, and I added the turkey (cubed) about halfway through to prevent drying out. When I made it the recipe filled an 8qt stock pot (1 lb of kidney beans and a lot of leftover turkey is probably why). My family was unanimous in their approval of the chili/ stew. I will definitely make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This chili is basically a miracle, thank you for posting the recipe! Delicious, incredibly healthy, and fast. Easily vegetarian and easily modified for different tastes. This is now one of my stand-bys for parties, potlucks, and just cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
We loved this!! This is my new favorite chili. The only alterations I made were leaving out the chilis and using leftover pureed butternut squash instead of cubed squash (much easier this way, too). This gave the chili a nice thick and smooth consistency. This was my first time using hominy; I really liked it. We'll definitely be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was yummy. The only changes I made were to add in some shredded zucchini to bulk it up and to use black beans. I may have also added mor broth.. didn't measure that. This was a very mild chili to me, which is what I was looking for. If you are looking for soemthing with a bite, use hotter peppers and some more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This recipe has great flavor. I used black beans instead of kidney (because I didn't have them). I skipped the hominy as well. It didn't thicken up like I would expect a chili to do, but I'm not sure if that has to do with the ingredients I left out or not. I'm making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITES ON THIS SITE. Two additional comments: 1. Must cut the butternut squash up into pretty small pieces (I like mine smaller than a 1/2 inch cubed) and cook for a while. 2. MUST MUST MUST garnish with cilantro (if you are a cilantro lover) and eat with avocado. It completely steps the dish up to another level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States