Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was a great fall soup. Hearty and a delicious blend. I used way more broth than recommended and added a little Italian seasoning. I cooked my soup in my crock pot on high for 6 hrs (cooked squash enough to cube up and throw in crock) and it turned out great. I was skeptical about the recipe due to the ingredients, but it turned out great. Wonderful use for butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Love love love this!! I added much more garlic, and upped the amounts of the spices. Those were my only changes. I wish I had thought to put the squash in the oven before I began cutting though. I always seem to forget how hard winter squash is. Other than that, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I'm appreciating butternut squash for the first time, thanks to this recipe. Before this, my attitude was always, "it's squash season. Sigh." Now, we are all excited about squash in our family, even my seven-year-old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this chili for a Halloween potluck. It was really yummy. I didnt include the ground turkey, for a veggie colleague. I left out the green chilies(didn't have them) and substituted garlic powder for the garlic cloves. I did add a little allspice and two peppers from my garden. MMMM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Easy and tasty! Added corn instead of hominy. Put 2 bay leaves in because I saw other comments. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I pureed the squash and white beans. Delish! My husband ate all the leftovers before I could get any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I think next time I will do it in the crockpot, I let it simmer for more than 30 minutes and the butternut squash was still too firm. Oh and I have no idea what white hominy is so we didnt use it, I added garbonzo beans though. Also apparently when making my grocery list I over looked the can of tomato sauce but Im glad I did because I think it would have been too runny. Other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This recipe was delicious quite possibly the best we have ever eaten. I used 2 cans of canned chicken I drained one instead of using turkey or adding other broth. I also had to use corn instead of hominy. I didn't use an onion but I used onion soup mix instead. The squash I used was left over from the roasted butternut squash recipe also on All Recipes. My canned diced tomatoes had rosemary and oregano in them and my sauce had green chilies in it. Next time I will not use garlic salt but will probably use garlic powder instead because my version was a bit salty, but I also had salt and pepper on the butternut squash already plus the soup mix added saltiness. I didn't add any more green chilies. My son and I are dieting and a 10th of this (252 grams) figures out to be around 218 calories made the way I did it. It was sooo yummy and tasty for "diet" food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
made it last night for the family and the missionary's, we all loved it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Great way to use our freshly harvested butternut squash. I served with sour cream. I could see adding a cup of cooked small shell pasta to the mix to give it a bit more body. Nice Fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krsms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States