Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Oh yeah, this is the good stuff! The only things I changed was using pinto beans instead of kidney, since I like them better; and I didn't have garlic salt so used a mix of regular salt and garlic powder. The hominy kind of makes it taste like cornmeal was added, which is a good thing, in my opinion. Delicious, hearty, and the perfect consistency that you can enjoy in a bowl with cheese and sour cream, and is also thick enough to use for nachos. (Plus is also healthier than the average chili!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I had a leftover butternut squash and wanted to try something other than b-nut Squash soup. This chili hit the spot on a snowy day. I'll be doing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good chili but I did make a significant change, substituted ground venison for the turkey. Used home canned tomatoes, tomato juice, and tomato sauce. Corn instead of hominy. 1 beef bullion cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gdrescher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alysssajoy
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Really good recipe!! I added 2 bay leaves, oregano, turmeric, allspice, corn and zucchini. I also used tomato paste instead of sauce. We like it thicker! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was a great fall soup. Hearty and a delicious blend. I used way more broth than recommended and added a little Italian seasoning. I cooked my soup in my crock pot on high for 6 hrs (cooked squash enough to cube up and throw in crock) and it turned out great. I was skeptical about the recipe due to the ingredients, but it turned out great. Wonderful use for butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Love love love this!! I added much more garlic, and upped the amounts of the spices. Those were my only changes. I wish I had thought to put the squash in the oven before I began cutting though. I always seem to forget how hard winter squash is. Other than that, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I'm appreciating butternut squash for the first time, thanks to this recipe. Before this, my attitude was always, "it's squash season. Sigh." Now, we are all excited about squash in our family, even my seven-year-old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this chili for a Halloween potluck. It was really yummy. I didnt include the ground turkey, for a veggie colleague. I left out the green chilies(didn't have them) and substituted garlic powder for the garlic cloves. I did add a little allspice and two peppers from my garden. MMMM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Easy and tasty! Added corn instead of hominy. Put 2 bay leaves in because I saw other comments. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States