Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I really liked this soup, I did use tofurky italian sausage and soy creamer instead of heavy cream. (to make it vegan) I also added a bit of cayenne pepper and cumin. Left out the corn and added celery as some others mentioned. Very good! Served with a slice of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Wow - this was fabulous! My husband, who doesn't like squash, really liked it, too! I couldn't find spicy turkey sausage and used regular sausage instead. To make it spicy I added a little cayenne while I was grilling the meat and onions. Be careful though, a little bit goes a LONG ways! :) We will definately have this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This time of year I enjoy soups very much and make a lot of them. This one I will not try again. Texture and flavor just is not what we look for in a soup. Some may like it but, I don’t recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I did everything exactly as the recipe called for, except that I used chicken boullion instead of broth, and no cream. I used chicken italian sausage, which was great! I was really unsure as I have never cooked with butternut squash before, but it turned out fantastic--even my husband was pleasantly surprised! Oh, and make sure you bake the seeds, just like pumpkin seeds only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I was skeptical about the sausage in here, but just curious enough to give it a try. Not a fan of the corn called for, I substituted chopped celery and added some minced garlic. I don't use turkey sausage, so I used Italian sausage instead. As it browned I added a good glug of Chardonnay. Both the garlic and the wine, I believe, contributed to what might have otherwise been a "flat" tasting soup. Once the soup was done, I was not happy with how thin it was, so I cooked another cup of rice in chicken broth, added that to the soup, and it was MUCH better. I garnished it with a squirt of mascarpone cheese and fresh chives. I like this! It's different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Outstanding! The only changes I made were to use chopped andouille sausage (what I had onhand) and finished the soup with half-n-half. I bet kielbasa would be great in it, as well. I added a cup or so of extra cooked rice to make it thicker. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I really liked this soup and thought it was so perfect for fall. I felt it was a little bland, though, so I added some garlic powder and a few other spices, which seemed to help. I also doubled the rice, and thought it came out much thicker and nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wow - what a great recipe! I went with mild sausage because of my kids and I thought I wouldn't like it (too bland) but what a surprise. It was excellent - I can't wait to make it again and I haven't even finished the first pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
It was great. I used acorn, butternut and spaghetti squash. I also added 2 minced cloves of garlic after browning the sausage. My picky husband called this "restaurant soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I submitted this recipe, you will need to use one large butternut squash or two smaller ones. Try blending the squash with one can of soup first and check the consistency, add more depending on how thick or thin you prefer your soup. Sometimes when I'm feeling very lazy I'll just buy frozen or canned squash to cut down on time. The soup is highly adaptable. Any type of rice you have on hand and other vegetables you want to throw in work fine I think. I just posted as my favorite way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States