Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I'm giving this recipe a 4 because it was awesome but I made a ton of changes to it. First, I used smoked sausaged that I halved and sliced instead of loose, spicy sausage. I also sauteed onions, celery, and carrots along with the sausage. Toward the end I added about a cup of cheese and doubled the amount of rice called for. It was five stars for sure that way. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!! Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Took advise for others b/c i too didn't spicy sausage on hand, only turkey sausage. Added cumin, cayenne pepper, paprika, and crushed red peppers. In small amounts. Didnt want the spices to be overpowering. I did add a small amount of cream at the end just to make it a little more on the creamy side. Thanks for the recipe and for the extra input. I'm enjoying this community of true and tried recipes!!!!!!!! :-) Family is loving all the new and improved foods. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This receipe was delicious...the picture is very misleading though. It's really a beautiful shade of butternut yellow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This soup was so good for a fall day! My only change is that I thought it had a bit too much pepper. Next time I'll just cut back on the pepper and give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Great soup, I haven't served it to hubby yet, but I can't stop "testing" it! I only had low fat breakfast sausage and the seasoning are very pleasant with the butternut squash. I left out corn (personal preference) added garlic, celery and chopped fresh green beans-also didn't bother blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A wonderful delicate balance of sweet and spice! It is surprisingly filling (especially after the 3rd bowl since you can't quit eating it) and it is even better as left-overs, that is if you have any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everydaycook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I added about 12 oz. of cream cheese instead of heavy cream, and added a little garlic, celery and chardonnay, as others suggested. It was delicious! I also deleted the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Absolutely 5 stars for this one! I just made this and it was incredible! I made a few changes - I didn't add rice or corn and I used a can of fat free beef broth and some vegetable bouillon as well. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keass171

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
must have done something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Ok, this wasn't great. Actually the taste was ok, it was just kind of strange. Not certain if I agree that the sausage goes well with the squash. Next time I will try the plain creamy squash soup I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States