Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this first just about as the instructions dictated & it was very good. The second time I made it, I substituted sweet potatoes for the squash and it was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I'm giving this recipe a 4 because it was awesome but I made a ton of changes to it. First, I used smoked sausaged that I halved and sliced instead of loose, spicy sausage. I also sauteed onions, celery, and carrots along with the sausage. Toward the end I added about a cup of cheese and doubled the amount of rice called for. It was five stars for sure that way. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!! Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Took advise for others b/c i too didn't spicy sausage on hand, only turkey sausage. Added cumin, cayenne pepper, paprika, and crushed red peppers. In small amounts. Didnt want the spices to be overpowering. I did add a small amount of cream at the end just to make it a little more on the creamy side. Thanks for the recipe and for the extra input. I'm enjoying this community of true and tried recipes!!!!!!!! :-) Family is loving all the new and improved foods. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This receipe was delicious...the picture is very misleading though. It's really a beautiful shade of butternut yellow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This soup was so good for a fall day! My only change is that I thought it had a bit too much pepper. Next time I'll just cut back on the pepper and give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Great soup, I haven't served it to hubby yet, but I can't stop "testing" it! I only had low fat breakfast sausage and the seasoning are very pleasant with the butternut squash. I left out corn (personal preference) added garlic, celery and chopped fresh green beans-also didn't bother blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A wonderful delicate balance of sweet and spice! It is surprisingly filling (especially after the 3rd bowl since you can't quit eating it) and it is even better as left-overs, that is if you have any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everydaycook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I added about 12 oz. of cream cheese instead of heavy cream, and added a little garlic, celery and chardonnay, as others suggested. It was delicious! I also deleted the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Absolutely 5 stars for this one! I just made this and it was incredible! I made a few changes - I didn't add rice or corn and I used a can of fat free beef broth and some vegetable bouillon as well. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keass171

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
must have done something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States