Butternut Squash and Shiitake Mushroom Wild Rice Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Best Risotto I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
we loved this so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djtabor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I used dried mixed mushrooms because I have a huge container of them from Costco. I also had some other random variety of squash that I used in place of butternut. It takes a while to cook (being risotto), but it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was quite tasty. I didn't have Gorgonzola cheese so I used Parmesan instead and it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyRenee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I am giving five stars - but I did make a couple of changes. I had some leftover smoked teal (wild duck) breast that was wrappped in bacon, so I diced some of the bacon and added with the onions then I added the diced smoked duck breast with the roasted butternut squash. I used about equal parts squash and smoked duck. I also used parm instead of gorgonzola because that is what I had on hand - I live at high altitude so have to add more liquid and cook for longer as usual for high alt adj. but this turned out fantastic! The depth and layers of flavor is amazing! Will definitly try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Delicious! I used fresh shiitake mushrooms and chicken stock because that's what I had and I probably should have cooked them before hand because the stems were a little hard. Also, the wild rice didn't cook at the same rate as the arborio so it was a little hard. In the feature I might partially cook it separately first. Otherwise it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I have just discovered allrecipes, and this is my fourth recipe. It is fabulous. I substituted a wild mushroom mix from Costco, and a wild/brown rice mix, also from Costco. Also substituted White Stilton for the Gorgonzola. It tastes amazing. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I had to make small modifications in order to use similar ingredients I had available. I did not use the optional maple syrup, preferred to use just the arborio rice, chicken broth rather than vegetable broth, and dried porcini mushrooms instead of the shiitake. To accommodate a “cheese picky” husband, I used the submitter’s suggestion to substitute Parmesan cheese for the gorgonzola. (He doesn’t like that either, but I know it was the lesser of two evils for him so I kind of snuck it in) This was one of the best, most interesting side dishes I’ve had in awhile. Wonderfully rich, complex blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
The only bad thing I can say is that I should have precooked the wild rice a little, since it takes longer to soften than arborio rice. So the wild rice is still a little hard, but still tastes amazing. I followed the recipe to the letter, except instead of Gorgonzola cheese, I did use a mix of parmigiano reggiano and ricotta (for extra creaminess). The result was out of this world. I also added chicken breast to the final product to make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Made it with all Arborio rice but otherwise followed the recipe pretty closely. So pleased with the result. This is a keeper. Already thinking about where to fit it into the Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States