Butternut Squash and Shiitake Mushroom Wild Rice Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
In a word: AMAZING! I made a few substitutions and had to play the cooking time by ear: used Orzo pasta instead of Arborio rice since I just couldnt find any, and canned mushrooms instead of fresh shitake (which I'm sure means itd be even BETTER with fresh mushrooms!!!), but it still came out absolutely FABULOUS! And the plus side was Orzo takes a much shorter cooking time. The flavor is pretty intense, so maybe better as a side than a main dish? The cheese makes this VERY rich and savory. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
The only bad thing I can say is that I should have precooked the wild rice a little, since it takes longer to soften than arborio rice. So the wild rice is still a little hard, but still tastes amazing. I followed the recipe to the letter, except instead of Gorgonzola cheese, I did use a mix of parmigiano reggiano and ricotta (for extra creaminess). The result was out of this world. I also added chicken breast to the final product to make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I had to make small modifications in order to use similar ingredients I had available. I did not use the optional maple syrup, preferred to use just the arborio rice, chicken broth rather than vegetable broth, and dried porcini mushrooms instead of the shiitake. To accommodate a “cheese picky” husband, I used the submitter’s suggestion to substitute Parmesan cheese for the gorgonzola. (He doesn’t like that either, but I know it was the lesser of two evils for him so I kind of snuck it in) This was one of the best, most interesting side dishes I’ve had in awhile. Wonderfully rich, complex blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I have just discovered allrecipes, and this is my fourth recipe. It is fabulous. I substituted a wild mushroom mix from Costco, and a wild/brown rice mix, also from Costco. Also substituted White Stilton for the Gorgonzola. It tastes amazing. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Best Risotto I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
we loved this so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj tabor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I used dried mixed mushrooms because I have a huge container of them from Costco. I also had some other random variety of squash that I used in place of butternut. It takes a while to cook (being risotto), but it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I am giving five stars - but I did make a couple of changes. I had some leftover smoked teal (wild duck) breast that was wrappped in bacon, so I diced some of the bacon and added with the onions then I added the diced smoked duck breast with the roasted butternut squash. I used about equal parts squash and smoked duck. I also used parm instead of gorgonzola because that is what I had on hand - I live at high altitude so have to add more liquid and cook for longer as usual for high alt adj. but this turned out fantastic! The depth and layers of flavor is amazing! Will definitly try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Great mix of a slight hint of sweet and the pungent Gorgonzola cheese. Big hit here tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Delicious! I used fresh shiitake mushrooms and chicken stock because that's what I had and I probably should have cooked them before hand because the stems were a little hard. Also, the wild rice didn't cook at the same rate as the arborio so it was a little hard. In the feature I might partially cook it separately first. Otherwise it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States