Butternut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Followed the recipe as written, except my "dash" of spices was actually 1/4 tsp of each, and I used half-and-half to slim down the fat just a bit. O.M.G. What a great tasting soup this is! I loved the combination of spices. I had planned to freeze individual serving sizes for eating throughout the winter, but I'm not sure any of it's going to actually make it into the freezer! :-) Thanks "stackhawkley" for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I have to agree with Sue S. this is an absolutely fantastic soup, family love's it keep them recipes coming. Thanks Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwardo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Used chicken low salt/no fat broth. Turned out great. Served with croutons of my choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I use chicken broth and coconut milk. My favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I think that peeling the squash after cooking it for 4 minutes must be a typographical error. I peel the squash first. I lighten this by using 2% evaporated milk instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was very good. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very tasty and pretty easy. Removing the skin from the squash was a little messy and not totally easy... but would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made this soup and it was delicious. I used acorn and butternut squash and it was very favorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
YUM! I love butternut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good soup. Although I cooked mine on the stove opposed to microwaving. There were a few things I did different only because I did not have the item called for. I added 2 tablespoons of butter, and I used half a cup of condensed milk instead of half and half. Substituted chicken broth for vegetable broth. I also felt I needed to add extra spices for a little more flavor. All around a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States