Butternut Shrimp Soup with Sherry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This is a keeper! I used the suggestion about carmelizing the onions, using only 1 T. butter, but found it too sweet. Made it again leaving out only the sugar--much better, and definitely sweet enough. I also blended all of the pear (too much of a 'burst' of sweetness when biting into the little chunks of pear). A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I cut the servings down to 4 & roasted my squash (cut in half, scrape out seeds, place cut side down in inch of water, bake @350 for about 45 minutes... maybe an hour) & then scooped out the inside & added it to the milk & broth (cutting down the cooking time, naturally). I pureed all of the pears (didn't have quite as much as recipe called for because I used some in pear-tinis ;o) ) I did make the carmelized onions (they had a lot to the soup!) but I only used a couple tbp of butter, half an onion & sprinkled them w/ salt instead of sugar. The only sherry I had was a cream sherry but it worked. I started the meal off w/ Pear-tinis (even hubby liked those), served this soup w/ a salad (w/ pear/honey vinaigrette), garlic toast & finished it off w/ Pears w/ Raspberry Sauce. Thansk for a very enjoyable recipe namaste2uom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Quick to make. Pears are a nice touch! So healthy and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Yum! This recipe was great, I didn't even get sick of it after three meals! The caramelized onions on the top were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was pretty tasty, but next time I plan not to puree the shrimp. I prefer big chunks of shrimp. The carmelized onion was a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I thought it was bland. Maybe it was because I used frozen shrimp, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
this is the one Pam and Shawn Loved - I made it for Kovarik Christmas I think and didn't go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I was a little skeptical, but this dish was fantastic! Very elegant and gourmet. My husband and I ate it with a side of asparagus and a dry Riesling. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavor7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
As someone suggested, I pureed all the pears. The only other change I made was to use a dry red wine, since I did not have sherry. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This soup is elegant, both in taste and appearance. I look forward to making it again and again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States