Butternut Shrimp Soup with Sherry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Quick to make. Pears are a nice touch! So healthy and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
WOW! Really great! This recipe was so unusual I just had to give it a try...it sounded like it would be either wonderful or terrible; turned out fantastic. I took a chance making it (since it had only been reviewed once) because I wanted to add such a healty recipe to my reportoire. I added the caramelized onion (sauteed in only about 3T butter) mentioned in the introduction to the recipe which was wonderful and added a lot of flavor to the soup. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This is a keeper! I used the suggestion about carmelizing the onions, using only 1 T. butter, but found it too sweet. Made it again leaving out only the sugar--much better, and definitely sweet enough. I also blended all of the pear (too much of a 'burst' of sweetness when biting into the little chunks of pear). A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This soup was okay, but I don't think I'd make it again. The blending of the pears and the squash gave it a somewhat gritty "baby food" texture that I didn't like. It tasted fine in and of itself, but I couldn't get over the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fruit Heights, Utah, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Frankly, this is the best soup I ever tasted. It is made with such a strange combination of ingredients, but I swear it works !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Absolutely amazing. I was a little skeptical of the strange sounding combination of ingredients, but decided I'd try it anyway because of the rating. My husband was raving about it for days! The only thing I changed was to use a little more shrimp than the recipe called for. Next time I might add a small amount of drained diced tomatoes at the end for some extra texture, I think it would go nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Without a doubt one of the top 5 soups I have tried. It's a keeper. I added the carmelized onions and left off the sherry. It was quite a treat! Nice addition to my collection of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Haley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was great! I usually make a simpler butternut squash soup, but this was a nice change. My husband and in-laws loved it. I did have to add more spices (to taste), but I just realized that I forgot to add the Tbsp sherry! It was great anyway and I think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This soup is elegant, both in taste and appearance. I look forward to making it again and again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CP07
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I used the suggestion of the carmelized onions and it gave the soup just the accent it needed. Flavors aren't strong, but it is rich and filling. I served a honey crusted cornbread with it which complimented the soup nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States