Butternut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
My family has made a similar cake for as long as I can remember. It's definitely one of our favorites. We use Superior brand Vanilla, Butter and Nut flavoring which gives the cake a beautiful yellow color. It used to be available in the grocery store, but we've had trouble finding it for years. I finally found it online at http://www.shopbettys.com/detail.aspx?ID=33 Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I used 2 sticks butter and 1/2 Cup Crisco, 3 cups sugar, 1 small can of evaporated milk with water added to make 1 cup, and 1 tablespoon of Superior brand Vanilla Butter & Nut Flavoring. Been a recipe I've used for 40 years. I often use Land O Lakes margarine and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I have put it into a cold oven but prefer to preheat oven to 325 and bake 1 hour and 15-30 minutes. Needs no garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Purchased butternut extract from King Arthur Flour on line, and it's delicious. This cake has the finest texture I've ever seen. I baked it Dec. 2010, and am just finishing up the last of it after having been frozen that long. The texture and taste are better than ever (vacuum sealed, which may have helped). Butterscotch Ice Cream Topping from this site pairs beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was the very best homemade cake I ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
So very good! Moist and flavorful - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I printed this recipe to bake cake and after the cake is in the oven I checked to print copy for friend and discovered the note (which doesn't show on printed copy)the cake should start in a cold oven. My cake is in the oven and don't know how it will be by starting with hot oven. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I've been making this cake for over 20 years and it's still the family favorite compared to any other pound cake. I don't usually have canned milk around the house and have substituted regular milk and even sour cream. It all works and it's all good. The butternut flavor gets better after a few days and this cake freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
i loved this recipe and so did my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States