Butternut Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I tried out this recipe and it was great. However, I did make a few changes. I used 2 1/2 cups of flour for a cup of mashed butternut squash. I also used 1/2 an egg, half a stick of butter, 1 teaspoon of salt and hand mixed it. The dough is very sticky so you have to use flour while rolling it out. The dough was not hard at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
loved the idea but needs approximate cooking time. I used these to make a pie. followed the pie recipe and the crust ended up WAY overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I agree with most, in that this makes a tough crust. However, it adapted quite well to homemade pasties, which is what I wanted it for, in the first place. Definitely use it for savory recipes, or maybe pumpkin pie. I think I might try making it with half shortening/butter and half squash. A little fat might be needed to create a flakier pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I would give this 5 stars as a healthy alternative to traditional pie crust. I liked the flavor, but it comes out very tough & chewy -- hard to cut. But, I found that it gets better over time -- probably due to contact with the pie filling (in my case, pumpkin pie). I will definitely use it again, just don't recommend it if you want a flaky, easy to cut crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Kudos to the chef for trying to make a healthy pie crust, but this ain't getting it. I am totally mystified as to how other posters said their family couldn't tell it wasn't a regular crust Thing was tough and bitter-tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I cut this recipe in half and mixed it by hand. After reading about tough crust, i tried to mix as little as i could. I got it to working shape and stopped. My crust came out good. I used it to make a butternut squash pie. Although the dough seems kind of bland, once you have sweet pie with it, it serves it purpose as a vehicle for the pie filling and does a good job..If its not overworked, it has a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirls8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
most eat that day, the leftover pie became very hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I LOVE this recipe, but not as a pie crust! After reading the reviews, I made this experimentally as a crust for a pumpkin pie. We'll skip to the end of that and say, like so many others that it's just not terribly good for pie crust. It's rather chewy and tough. Quite a bit like a pasta noodle actually... So! Since it yielded enough for two crusts and I only made the one pie, I realized that it's a very similar consistency to pierogi dough. Since I had quite a bit of squash left over, I made squash pierogi from it using a simple pierogi recipe. Added chopped walnuts and nutmeg to the mashed squash to dress up the filling just a little. So delicious! Freeze them and they're probably good for months, though they never last long enough to find out in my house. I make this every few weeks now, it's a new favorite. Delicious fried up in some butter or, served with alfredo like ravioli. Would probably be tastey with other sauces as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elepent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This crust was a little bit tough to tackle the first time we tried, but we found: not using a food processor and mixing/kneeding by hand and flouring the rolling surface and rolling pin *very well* ended up in a lovely crust once rolled very thin, my mother(who normally doesn't like the extra trouble of my "healthier" recipes) even liked the crust better than traditional Crisco crust once we got it right the second try and we used it in Cherry pies both times so it doesn't work only with savory/meat pies but seems to work with sweeter pies as well. I don't think we'll be making the traditional Crisco crusts anymore, we just have to make sure we roll this crust thin and not overbake or it'll be hard and chewy. Thanks Sunflower for coming up with an alternative to Crisco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Great concept but needs a little help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States