Butternut, Apple and Yogurt Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I love squash soup, but for some reason, I could not enjoy this one. I used only one cup of yogurt because two seemed like a lot but it still was a little too "yogurty" for my tastes- that sort of sour taste that yogurt has really affects the dish. Also, I used a squash puree I'd made previously for something else so I thought I wouldn't have to puree the soup later but the chunks of apple don't really work- definitely follow the directions and puree the soup! Last thing, I thought the sunflower seeds didn't work with the other flavors, and I wished I had used pecans or something else instead. BUT, my guests loved it, so I won't be rating this too poorly- maybe there's just something wrong with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Delicious! Next time, I will use a little less broth, the taste of the broth overpowered the soup just a little bit. I also recommend a little nutmeg, and more apple. Soooo tasty ... the tanginess of the yogurt makes it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I improvised a half batch of this soup using 900ml chicken broth, about 4 cups of butternut squash, 2 medium empire apples (all I had), and only 1/2 tsp. of curry powder. I didn't add the yogurt until I served the soup and I used a big fat dollop of greek yogurt.....soooooooo tasty, and very low-fat and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is a wonderful tasting, fragrant, warming and nutritious soup. Thank you for the recipe. I will definitely be making it on a regular basis. Greenstar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Absolutely excellent! I made this tonight for my family and it was a hit. We had soup and BLTs-- a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissabug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Yikes all that chopping...this was a ton of prep work for something decent tasting. I followed the recipe verbatim and wasn't happy with the end results. I was excited before making it because the ingredients looked awesome... oh well :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Really good! I had some leftover squash and this worked great as a half batch. I couldn't get the kids to eat it though. I'll still make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made and took this to an autumn recipe exchange, and it was well -loved! It took much longer to prepare than mentioned - but I might be a slow cutter. Otherwise it was great just as it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this 10/18/09...I omitted the cinnamon, and added 6 finely chopped fresh bay leaves. I also only added 1 1/2 cups of yogurt vs. the 2/cups the recipe called out for. The bay leaves definately added more flavor. The soup was very rich and creamy. I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritakay8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
very good!!! added a heaping tablespoon of brown sugar after taste testing to round out flavor..excellent fall soup! definitely on my list of winter soups, then again it would make an excellent chilled soup:)will definitely repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Clark Gombar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States