Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made this a number of times but have modified it to my own taste. I always roast the squash. I think it imparts a smokiness to the finished product. I add a generous pour of Sherry, 2-3 tbls of ginger paste or minced if I have it, mild or yellow curry to taste but..not enough to over power, but to punch it up. I have also used apple sauce when I was out of apples. I use heavy cream..(its a luxurious soup and we don't eat it more than once or twice a year). I use an emulsion blender and finish it off with another splash of Sherry, a dollop of plain Greek yogurt, a sprinle of nutmeg and a pinch of minced chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved this recipe! Easy to make and tasted so good! Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keely Fahoum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this recipe pretty much as described. I used a whole butternut which was about 4 cups. I garnished with little bits bacon. Next time I will roast the veggies as that sounds like it will develop more flavor. I will try vinegar instead of wine because it needed a little more acid. I will also try adding a bit of cayenne. This was a very nice meal with fresh homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Make this every fall and it is so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Wonderful! I only wish I could freeze it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Delicious! It's true, it didn't need cream. I used milk instead, mostly just because it was pretty thick without it. It's a lovely consistency when it's finished. I also added cinnamon, double the nutmeg, and a dash of cloves. So tasty! Perfect fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Perfect Fall soup!! Didn't really need the cream. Good either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Missing the smell of fall already? This is perfect for a fall evening, hearty and delicious. Made a few minor changes based on reviews; added a dash of ginger and cumin, omitted the cream for allergy reasons, and used the blender to puree. Doubled the recipe and had quite a bit to share with Grandparents and neighbors. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, will be sure to keep on cooking it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I added a little cinnamon and used a sweet potato instead of a white one. The whole family loved it. Will definitely go again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Truly excellent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdockeney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States