Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, and it was incredibly bland. The smell was nice, the color is pleasant, but there is almost no butternut squash flavor. I would omit the potato, double the squash, add some more spices (cinnamon, curry powder, or cayenne are all good options), leave out the wine, reduce the amount of leek/onion, and cut the cream. The portion size indicated is vastly underestimated, I would guess this yielded twice the number of servings the recipe said it would. Essentially, I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is one of our favorite soups! Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I liked the soup! I used 1/4 half and half and 1/4 whipping cream. had lots of leftovers I am freezing and.... look forward to sharing this recipe with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I loved this! High in fiber and great taste!!! Wonderful fall soup. It did come out thick which was bothersome to my husband but didn't bother me at all. For his, I thinned it out with a little white wine and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I have made this many times, and modified it every time, depending on what I have on hand. I hardly ever remember to buy leeks, so I usually just add more onion. Lately I use coconut oil instead of olive or butter, as it has a higher smoke point, and I think the coconut flavor is complimentary. I recently cut back on eating nightshades, so I sub a sweet potato for the white potato. I also use about a 2 x 1 inch piece of fresh ginger peeled and shredded. This is a must! It adds susch a great compliment to the orange veggies. At the end I stir in coconut milk and nutmeg. No need for the heavy cream IMO, though it does add richness, and will make you more full. If you want it a little thicker, use less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It smelled wonderful. The flavor was not to my liking. Definitely would not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I adored this recipe. It was a fantastic way to use up some huge butternut squashes we had. Even my husband who isn't a huge fan of butternut liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Fabulous! I made this for 1 person, adding 1/2 an apple instead of a 1/4. I'm not a fan of soup but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gloucester, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States