Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Good, thick, creamy soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosalba De Benedictis
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Yes made this today I doubled the recipe. Then tweaked it a bit I used all sweet onions, no leeks, also used Fuji apples and garnet sweet potatoes. I added two cups of chopped organic carrots. Then spiced it up I added cinnamon one tsp, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and a one TBLS of light brown sugar. Used two TBLS of cider vinegar instead if wine, sea salt and ground pepper to taste. Added a cup and half of half and half at the end after using the hand blender. DELISH with some crusty bread for dipping in a cup. So good, Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
We love this soup! I have made it two ways, one the exact way it is said and also without the creamy, nutmeg and dry white wine. Love it both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodie401
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
i made this for dinner and it was a hit with my 3yo too , she chose not to add chives to hers. we used red skin potatoes instead of russett because that's what were available to us, and i felt like the ingredient list could be more specific about the amount of leeks. the nutmeg and light cream really balances out all the flavors. i really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I like most of my soups to be thicker consistency unless we are talking good old fashioned chicken soup. This soup is thin for me so I added another idaho potato. Next time I will just cut down on broth instead of adding another potato. I also found it missing an ingredient so I spooned a small portion and explored. Cinnamon was the answer! YES! Yummy! I didn't have cream or white wine on hand but with the cinnamon I was happy. It is healthier this way anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Deeeelish!! I really loved this! I used vegetable stock because that is what I had on hand and left out the wine. All of the different components can be adjusted to your own preferences for flavors. Easy and yummy, not to mention how wonderful it makes your house smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
For me, this soup did not have enough of the butternut squash and apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This soup was just o.k. Considering all the wonderful ingredients, not to mention the work put into cutting them all up, it was disappointing. I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Delicious! This soup even pleased my picky daughter. As a great base soup each family member seasoned it as they liked it, nutmeg, cayenne, added pepper. I used water instead of chicken broth and omitted the leeks and wine and it was rich even without them. I left out the cream and we each poured a few tablespoons of Fat Free Half & Half into our hot soup at the table. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Wasn't going to rate because I made so many changes to make it aip friendly and I was out of some thing but it was so delicious I just figured I'd note what I did. Changed white potato to sweet potato and had no carrot so I added a second sweet potato. I'm sensitive to onion so I just left thst out but left the leek, I only had one cup of squash so I added a cup of pumpkin, nutmeg is not allowed on my diet so I added cinnamon and ginger instead and used coconut milk instead of cream. Loved this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States