Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe accept I substituted apple cider vinegar for the wine and I didn't measure very carefully because my squash was huge and I figured I'd need a little extra of stuff to balance things out. The soup turned out very good but I think the apple cider vinegar was too much. I may consider adding ginger and maybe garlic next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was a great recipe, but I tweaked it a little. First, I cut the squash in half and sprinkled olive oil, fresh ground black pepper, thyme, and rosemary on them, then baked for 40 minutes at 400 degrees to soften the meat of the squash. I added a teaspoon of minced garlic and chopped bacon to the initial butter, onion, and leek medley. I followed the rest of the steps as written, but in the end, used heavy cream, cumin, and ginger in addition to the nutmeg. My dad hates squash, but he sure liked this! Definitely a big hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Turned out perfect in every way. Used one less leek and a bit more onion, plus added some cinnamon and ground cloves to the final product. One of the best soups I've ever made, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This wasn't a bad soup. Quite bland especially pureed. It took a lot of work to peel, core, and dice the food. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Everyone loved this soup. It's flavorful, creamy and wasn't all that difficult to make. I added a bit more squash, and a bit less carrot ... and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
everyone in my family loved this from my toddler to my grandpa. thanks for an excellent recipe! i only didn't add the leeks, as i didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is an awesome recipe! My husband surprised me with dinner one night and I fell in love with the soup. He even made it for a soup sale that we do at work to benefit Making Strides Against Breast Cancer. Big hit!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I didn't have leeks so I used green onions. Didn't have wine and didn't miss it. And only had HEAVY cream. That's probably what made it so good haha. Very filling. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is fantastic. The apple adds just the right amount of sweetness and zing. I even simplified the recipe and it still came out great. Instead of stock I simply used two cups of salted water. I also left out the leek, as we had none, and didn't add the cream or wine. I also varied the spicing a bit. I used one quarter teaspoon nutmed, a quarter teaspoon cinnamon, and a quarter teaspon sage. It was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anelie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
really healthy and very tasty! I used organic vegetable broth, and as i didn't have any dry white (very unusual!) i used organic apple juice and in place of cream used fat free milk - as that is what i use. Deeeelicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States