Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This soup is not worth the effort. There are too many ingredients and the flavors end up muddled and bland. One review recommended substituting apple cider vinegar for the wine - do NOT do this. The vinegar flavor takes over the soup. I was so disappointed when I tasted this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
So rich it could pass for dessert! Made a few changes, notably switching out the cream for vanilla almond milk. Used two sweet potatoes instead of a white potato. Doubled the apples and left out the carrots (only because we were out.) Used apple cider in place of white wine. Also added spices to taste including cumin, nutmeg, cinnamon, and allspice. Served with hot bread out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this after our first official New England snow storm, it was delicious! I added four heaping spoonfuls of pumpkin cream cheese spread to add a little sweetness and used almond milk instead of the light cream, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This soup was fabulous! It almost tasted like dessert! I didn't have wine so skipped it and really didn't measure the vegetables. I used an acorn squash because that's what I had and added two apples. To finish, i added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
What wonderful blend of spices and tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Excellent soup! We added some cayenne and ginger at the end (instead of nutmeg) for a little extra kick. This soup is surprisingly filling. Great for a cold fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
So good! I love how you can taste all the ingredients individually within the blend. I used a whole squash which was probably double the amount, but it was still delicious. I will be serving this as our first course for Thanksgiving. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
yuuuuuuumy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This soup was great. I followed the recipe pretty much to the T except that in addition to the regular potato I added 1 sweet potatol. Oh, I did not have serve it with chives as I didn't have any on hand. I would make this again. It was easy to make after you have all of the veggies cut up. I served it with homemade bread sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Wow! This soup is amazing! My husband hates veggies and he couldn't get enough of this soup. It makes great leftovers too. I loved this soup! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaceyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States