Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I garnished with some feta - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Would give it 10 stars if I could. Absolutely perfect! I added celery, but otherwise followed recipe to a tee. It also freezes well, which is wonderful when you're cooking for two. Great with a loaf of crunchy hot bread. I've also used it as an appetizer by serving it in little shot glasses (you can get them at a dollar store in packages of four) - put them on a silver tray -always impresses! Thanks for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Added a bit of fresh grated ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Glinsmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I liked it with the wine unfortunately my family did not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, and it was incredibly bland. The smell was nice, the color is pleasant, but there is almost no butternut squash flavor. I would omit the potato, double the squash, add some more spices (cinnamon, curry powder, or cayenne are all good options), leave out the wine, reduce the amount of leek/onion, and cut the cream. The portion size indicated is vastly underestimated, I would guess this yielded twice the number of servings the recipe said it would. Essentially, I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is one of our favorite soups! Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I liked the soup! I used 1/4 half and half and 1/4 whipping cream. had lots of leftovers I am freezing and.... look forward to sharing this recipe with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I loved this! High in fiber and great taste!!! Wonderful fall soup. It did come out thick which was bothersome to my husband but didn't bother me at all. For his, I thinned it out with a little white wine and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I have made this many times, and modified it every time, depending on what I have on hand. I hardly ever remember to buy leeks, so I usually just add more onion. Lately I use coconut oil instead of olive or butter, as it has a higher smoke point, and I think the coconut flavor is complimentary. I recently cut back on eating nightshades, so I sub a sweet potato for the white potato. I also use about a 2 x 1 inch piece of fresh ginger peeled and shredded. This is a must! It adds susch a great compliment to the orange veggies. At the end I stir in coconut milk and nutmeg. No need for the heavy cream IMO, though it does add richness, and will make you more full. If you want it a little thicker, use less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States