Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Fabulous! I made this for 1 person, adding 1/2 an apple instead of a 1/4. I'm not a fan of soup but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gloucester, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kingstonmassive
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Great soup! I added some cooked spicy chorizo at the end to add a little more spice. Also, added a little cilantro at the end and topped with diced Crimini mushrooms and a dollup of sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe was nice, but I feel like it needed a little extra "something" to give it a kick; maybe some chorizo or other spicy sausage next time to add flavor and round out the meal with protein. My family liked the flavor blend of all the ingredients, but I think next time I will incorporate the advice of a fellow reviewer and substitute a sweet potato for the regular potato. I used a spiced white wine, but still didn't feel like it was enough spice...add some ginger next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made this a number of times but have modified it to my own taste. I always roast the squash. I think it imparts a smokiness to the finished product. I add a generous pour of Sherry, 2-3 tbls of ginger paste or minced if I have it, mild or yellow curry to taste but..not enough to over power, but to punch it up. I have also used apple sauce when I was out of apples. I use heavy cream..(its a luxurious soup and we don't eat it more than once or twice a year). I use an emulsion blender and finish it off with another splash of Sherry, a dollop of plain Greek yogurt, a sprinle of nutmeg and a pinch of minced chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved this recipe! Easy to make and tasted so good! Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keely Fahoum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this recipe pretty much as described. I used a whole butternut which was about 4 cups. I garnished with little bits bacon. Next time I will roast the veggies as that sounds like it will develop more flavor. I will try vinegar instead of wine because it needed a little more acid. I will also try adding a bit of cayenne. This was a very nice meal with fresh homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Make this every fall and it is so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Wonderful! I only wish I could freeze it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Delicious! It's true, it didn't need cream. I used milk instead, mostly just because it was pretty thick without it. It's a lovely consistency when it's finished. I also added cinnamon, double the nutmeg, and a dash of cloves. So tasty! Perfect fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Perfect Fall soup!! Didn't really need the cream. Good either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States