Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Wasn't going to rate because I made so many changes to make it aip friendly and I was out of some thing but it was so delicious I just figured I'd note what I did. Changed white potato to sweet potato and had no carrot so I added a second sweet potato. I'm sensitive to onion so I just left thst out but left the leek, I only had one cup of squash so I added a cup of pumpkin, nutmeg is not allowed on my diet so I added cinnamon and ginger instead and used coconut milk instead of cream. Loved this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandy
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great! Healthy and delicious! I used low salt veggie stock and half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
As usual I didn't follow exactly. No carrots, so used two golden queen tomatoes, skins removed, and an additional early red apple. Just as with my garden tomato leek soup, I add a glop of sour cream to each bowl when serving, instead of adding to the pot. Really delicious and smooth, but next time I'll leave out the extra apple. The golden queen tomato provides some acidity and balance to the sweetness. Yum is the word of the day! Patricia in Washington, PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great Recipe. I was looking for a new butternut squash recipe, and this one hit it out of the park. It will make it on to our table again. I'd like to try the sweet potato instead of a white one next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
It was a lot of work to chop up all those veggies (although I made a double batch), and I thought it was bland - the wine and nutmeg did help - I used milk instead of light cream - which would probably have been better. I also ended up adding ginger, cinnamon, and cloves. I actually thought that made it worse. so I then added some apple cider vinegar. I feel like it tastes thin to me. I've read it's better after it sits for a day or two - we will see. At this point, I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Plenty of flavor and you get the sweet and savory thing going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
My whole family loved this recipe! It's delicious, makes a lot and is really easy to make, especially if you buy butternut squash that's already cubed, like I did. The only thing I added that wasn't in the recipe was a couple of teaspoons of cinnamon and also kicked up the amount of nutmeg, salt & pepper too. Besides topping it with the chives, we also topped it with cheddar croutons. It would also be great served with BLT's or grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States