Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I loved this savory soup. My husband and son weren't too keen on it though. I woulndn't change anything in the recipe. I made it exactly according to the directions and it turned out beautifully. Very good soup for rainy days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was Great and fun to make! I did use the sweet potato instead of a white potato and I used apple cider instead of the suggested white wine. Very little clean up which I like;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Made this soup tonight! My husband and I enjoyed it very much! We will enjoy the leftovers. My only critique is that for a novice cook like myself it took longer than indicated to prepare everything by about an hour. :-) Even so, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made this soup over the weekend. It was fantastic! I'm definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I have made Butternut Squash soup before so when I read this recipe I thought the addition of apple and potato sounded interesting. I used 2 medium butternut squash,cut them in half and scored the fleshy part, added Splenda brown sugar, cinnamon, bit of butter, salt and pepper, and,then roasted it in the oven at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. When they were done, I took the skin off, and cubed the squash for the soup. I followed the recipe for the rest of the ingredients, using the immersion blender to puree it. It was wonderful and our house smelled like autumn! My very picky daughter ate 3 bowls! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I thought this was going to be a fantastic soup, but it was super bland and not flavorful at all. I agree with some other reviewers on those counts. I followed the recipe exactly, without the optional wine. It was so bland what after we tried it, we went back and added a lot more things like cinnamon, cloves, more salt, just trying to get it to taste great but it still is just a very bland soup. I very much prefer the Creamy Butternut Squash with Cinnamon Soup from this site. NO comparison!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I love this soup. I made the recipe just as it is written- didn't add the optional wine because I didn't have any on hand. It is such an appropriate food for autumn and apple season. Will definitely make again and accompany it this time with a good sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe! I used 1/2 & 1/2 rather than the light cream, plus a bit of ginger. Yummy, and satisfying on a chilly fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
My family and I loved this soup. I did take the suggestion of others and baked the butternut squash in the oven whole for 1 1/2 hours at 400 degrees. It was so easy to peel the skin off, scoop the seeds out and puree with the rest of the soup. I added 1/2 cup of milk instead of cream. It is such a nice warm hearty soup, perfect for cold and rainy days. Thanks for the recipe! It is a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
My family LOVED this soup. It was very good and very healthy(although, don't tell the family that!!). I used soy plain yogurt instead of the cream, and it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States