Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
After trying several of these squash soup recipes, I think I've found my winner! Following the advice of some of the other reviewers I used sweet potatoes, substituted frozen squash for the fresh and added apple juice instead of the wine - it was AWESOME! I also added a couple of shakes of cinnamon and ginger to accent the "sweet" in the soup. I threw everything in my crockpot on high for the day and then used my hand blender to puree it right in the pot. Again, AWESOME! Thank you cynjne for a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
It was easier than I thought it would be. The hardest part was just peeling and cutting the squash but there are methods for that. My fiance and I loved it with some French bread. It was so delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was great with a smoked turkey tenderloin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was great! I made it twice, and the first time my family liked it, but it was a little too thick and 'squashy'. So this time I added cauliflower too, plus a bit more broth and some extra potato - didn't have leeks so just used extra onion. Used a gala apple. Much better with this extra other vegetable variation. I used white potatoes instead of sweet, since we were trying to get away from the strong orange vegetable taste. Also added a pinch of cinnamon along with the nutmeg, no wine, and only a little bit of lite half and half. Thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Love this soup. I've made it several times in the last few weeks. I used canned pumpkin in place of the squash to save on some time. I also never ever have leeks on hand so I used regular onions. Used butter substitute and fat free half and half. No need for the extra fat. This soup does not need it. I've also given it a few shakes of sage,thyme,rosemary and black pepper in addition to the nutmeg. Awesome soup. Just made it again tonight and added about 1 tspn of chopped fresh ginger just to give it some kick. It was super. Topped it with fat free sour cream and some homemade croutons (recipe from this site) Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a great soup, but I didn't really taste the apple in it. Our family all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I love this soup, but I prefer not to puree the entire soup. I left some chunks of potatoes and carrots...It was a huge hit at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe, exactly what I was hoping for from a squash soup. I used a whole butternut squash (probably an extra cup) - no reason to waste! Based on some reviews, I used a sweet potato and added 2T brown sugar and 1t cinnamon. I (shockingly) didn't have any white wine in the house, so I used apple cider vinegar instead of the wine - word of caution: you do NOT need 1/4 cup of vinegar! 1T or 2T would be plenty. It didn't ruin the soup, but it was a tad zingier than I planned. I used the cream - for the amount you're adding to such a large pot, it doesn't make the fat content go through the roof, and adds extra depth. Pleased even the skeptics in the group. Making it again for Thanksgiving Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Came out great. I omitted the leeks, chives, and wine because I don't like them. I used a Sweet Potato. I also added about a cup or so more Squash, and used about 1-2 teaspoons of Nutmeg, Sage, Cayenne, and Rosemary because people said it was bland. Flavor was subtle but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Excellant soup for fall. We used sweet potatoes instead and dropped the white wine. Enjoyed by all...even folks that like butternut squash, but had not had the soup yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States