Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Instead of using butter to saute the vegetables I used vegetable oil. What I like about this soup is that even if you don't have all the ingredients it comes out great. I did not have on hand, the leeks and the cream so I left those out. Once the veggies have cooked I do like cooling the soup before pureeing using my stick mixer. Use the pulsing motion to avoid splattering. Once the soup was pureed, I did add 1 cup apple cider. Using ready cut up butternut squash from the store saves a lot of time and energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aura Main

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Excellent Recipe. However i did modify it. I had no leak or chives so omitted these. i used yellow Yukon Gold potatoes. i had no dry white wine so instead I put 1.5 Tspn of mirin (japanese rice wine) which made it more healthy, i wanted this dairy free so i omitted the cream and sour cream. i did not feel like using pepper and i seasoned with a pinch of sea salt once the soup first came to a boil so the salt was cooked in and released more of the natural sugars in the veggies (also seasoning first makes salt more digestable and better for your intestines). my kids had two servings they loved it so much . We decided to be even more healthier and not eat bread with it. It was more than satisfying on its own! i have been trying healthier buttnernut soup recipes and haven't been happier until i found this one and modified it. i should just repost it as a new recipe LOL. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Every time we make this soup I remember how wonderful it is. We cook our squash a little in the microwave to speed up the cooking time, use a sweet potato and apple cider as recommended by others. We have yet to make it with the cream because it is yummy without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was pretty good. When I tasted it it seemed like it needed to be a little sweeter...with the apple flavor so I added a couple Tbs of brown sugar. Everything else I followed exactly. Oh but I didn't have the wine so left that out. Overall after the added sweetness it was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made a huge batch of this last night and love it, and will for the next few days ;-). These are the changes that I made: I used sweet potato instead of normal potato, instead of the cream I poured in a sauce I had just made out of soaked macadamia nuts, pine nuts, garlic and water. I didn't use the wine. I had planned to use cinnamon instead of nutmeg and grabbed red pepper by mistake - ahem - that gave it some kick, but the nut sauce mellowed it down. Overall it came out awesome. The little nut pieces really add something to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This had a good flavor, but MAKE SURE YOU COOK IT UNTIL THE VEGGIES ARE VERY SOFT. Mine was still a little chunky after blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
The best fall soup ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimg211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This pretty much tasted like baby food. I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This soup has an excellently smooth and subtle taste. It would make a great before dinner soup. We put one sweet potato and one red potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaJoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This soup is wonderful! I did not use cream (lactose intolerant) or wine. Going to try with the wine tonight though. Can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woolwich, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States