Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was great! Can't get Butternut squash anywhere, unfortunately, but if you can, it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Good base recipe! I wanted more spice and flavor, though. So I added: 1 tsp freshly grated ginger, 2-3 dashes ground cinnamon, 1 tsp curry powder, 1 TBSP brown sugar. I also skipped the leeks and used more onion. May try the leeks some time. I added a half of a sweet potato I had in my frig. AND- I peeled and cubed the squash, then roasted it w a bit of olive oil for 20 minutes and added it half way through the cooking time. I think the partial carmelization may have added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Love this soup. I didn't add white wine or cream. I followed some recommendations and added some fresh ginger and cayenne pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. My picky 7 and 2 yr olds eat this up like there is no tomorrow. I bake the squash in the oven with olive oil and salt and pepper (cut in half). When I pull that out, i start putting the soup together, i add the squash last by just scouping it out of the outer peel and right into the pot. SUPER EASY I will definately be making this regularly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma1803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
After trying several of these squash soup recipes, I think I've found my winner! Following the advice of some of the other reviewers I used sweet potatoes, substituted frozen squash for the fresh and added apple juice instead of the wine - it was AWESOME! I also added a couple of shakes of cinnamon and ginger to accent the "sweet" in the soup. I threw everything in my crockpot on high for the day and then used my hand blender to puree it right in the pot. Again, AWESOME! Thank you cynjne for a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
It was easier than I thought it would be. The hardest part was just peeling and cutting the squash but there are methods for that. My fiance and I loved it with some French bread. It was so delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was great with a smoked turkey tenderloin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was great! I made it twice, and the first time my family liked it, but it was a little too thick and 'squashy'. So this time I added cauliflower too, plus a bit more broth and some extra potato - didn't have leeks so just used extra onion. Used a gala apple. Much better with this extra other vegetable variation. I used white potatoes instead of sweet, since we were trying to get away from the strong orange vegetable taste. Also added a pinch of cinnamon along with the nutmeg, no wine, and only a little bit of lite half and half. Thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Love this soup. I've made it several times in the last few weeks. I used canned pumpkin in place of the squash to save on some time. I also never ever have leeks on hand so I used regular onions. Used butter substitute and fat free half and half. No need for the extra fat. This soup does not need it. I've also given it a few shakes of sage,thyme,rosemary and black pepper in addition to the nutmeg. Awesome soup. Just made it again tonight and added about 1 tspn of chopped fresh ginger just to give it some kick. It was super. Topped it with fat free sour cream and some homemade croutons (recipe from this site) Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States