Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is fantastic. The apple adds just the right amount of sweetness and zing. I even simplified the recipe and it still came out great. Instead of stock I simply used two cups of salted water. I also left out the leek, as we had none, and didn't add the cream or wine. I also varied the spicing a bit. I used one quarter teaspoon nutmed, a quarter teaspoon cinnamon, and a quarter teaspon sage. It was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anelie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
really healthy and very tasty! I used organic vegetable broth, and as i didn't have any dry white (very unusual!) i used organic apple juice and in place of cream used fat free milk - as that is what i use. Deeeelicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Fantastic recipe! But I'm not a huge fan of nutmeg, so I substituted with cinnamon and I wasn't sure how it would turn out. It worked great! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very good! I used a sweet potato instead of a regular potato, and cider vinegar instead of the wine, as I never have any wine. Also, I used skim milk instead of cream to lower the fat, and didn't miss the cream at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Gingerich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
We really enjoyed this soup. I've tried other butternut squash soup recipes before and have never been happy with them. I'll hang on to this one for sure but I'm only giving it 4 stars because of the changes I made. I left out the leeks because I didn't have them on hand. I used and entire small squash which turned out to be 3+ cups. I used a Fuji apple because it's what I had. I used a tablespoon or so of apple cider vinegar in place of the wine (per other reviewers recommendation). I added just a dash of nutmeg and several dashes of cinnamon along with a pinch of cayenne pepper for a little dimension. Then the major change I made was LEAVE OUT THE CREAM! I'm sure it's very tasty with it. But I'm trying to eliminate some post-baby fat and this soup does NOT need the extra fat if it suits you to leave it out. It's delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was great! Can't get Butternut squash anywhere, unfortunately, but if you can, it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Good base recipe! I wanted more spice and flavor, though. So I added: 1 tsp freshly grated ginger, 2-3 dashes ground cinnamon, 1 tsp curry powder, 1 TBSP brown sugar. I also skipped the leeks and used more onion. May try the leeks some time. I added a half of a sweet potato I had in my frig. AND- I peeled and cubed the squash, then roasted it w a bit of olive oil for 20 minutes and added it half way through the cooking time. I think the partial carmelization may have added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Love this soup. I didn't add white wine or cream. I followed some recommendations and added some fresh ginger and cayenne pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. My picky 7 and 2 yr olds eat this up like there is no tomorrow. I bake the squash in the oven with olive oil and salt and pepper (cut in half). When I pull that out, i start putting the soup together, i add the squash last by just scouping it out of the outer peel and right into the pot. SUPER EASY I will definately be making this regularly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma1803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States