Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This soup was just o.k. Considering all the wonderful ingredients, not to mention the work put into cutting them all up, it was disappointing. I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Delicious! This soup even pleased my picky daughter. As a great base soup each family member seasoned it as they liked it, nutmeg, cayenne, added pepper. I used water instead of chicken broth and omitted the leeks and wine and it was rich even without them. I left out the cream and we each poured a few tablespoons of Fat Free Half & Half into our hot soup at the table. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made a double batch for a neighborhood get together. Everyone LOVED the soup. I used honey crisp apple and apple cider which made the soup a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Wasn't going to rate because I made so many changes to make it aip friendly and I was out of some thing but it was so delicious I just figured I'd note what I did. Changed white potato to sweet potato and had no carrot so I added a second sweet potato. I'm sensitive to onion so I just left thst out but left the leek, I only had one cup of squash so I added a cup of pumpkin, nutmeg is not allowed on my diet so I added cinnamon and ginger instead and used coconut milk instead of cream. Loved this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandy
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great! Healthy and delicious! I used low salt veggie stock and half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
As usual I didn't follow exactly. No carrots, so used two golden queen tomatoes, skins removed, and an additional early red apple. Just as with my garden tomato leek soup, I add a glop of sour cream to each bowl when serving, instead of adding to the pot. Really delicious and smooth, but next time I'll leave out the extra apple. The golden queen tomato provides some acidity and balance to the sweetness. Yum is the word of the day! Patricia in Washington, PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great Recipe. I was looking for a new butternut squash recipe, and this one hit it out of the park. It will make it on to our table again. I'd like to try the sweet potato instead of a white one next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
It was a lot of work to chop up all those veggies (although I made a double batch), and I thought it was bland - the wine and nutmeg did help - I used milk instead of light cream - which would probably have been better. I also ended up adding ginger, cinnamon, and cloves. I actually thought that made it worse. so I then added some apple cider vinegar. I feel like it tastes thin to me. I've read it's better after it sits for a day or two - we will see. At this point, I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States