Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was a bit too rich, so I made it twice, the second time I used 1 tbsp of butter instead of the asking 3 tbsp. And used half the amount of cream cheese that the recipe called for. It is a delicious soup however, I like it for how simplistic it is to make!!!! I served it with a mixed green avocado salad with maple candied pecans and blue cheese dressing, a wonderful pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very yummy, 4 stars due to my opinion of too sweet and too cream cheesy. Made it a second time and used 2/3 block cream cheese, 1/4 c. brown sugar, added some nutmeg, cayenne pepper (because I like a kick) and the slightest touch of curry. Also used a lot more black pepper. Didn't use all of the broth because I like it thick! ***UPDATE: For those of you who are very pleased with your soup, the next time you make it, could you give an estimate of how much squash (in cups) that you use? I made it again and I think both squash were too big. Thank you for an excellent recipe - I served mine with 1/2 an asiago bagel and a sliced honeycrisp apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Mitchell Tchobanian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I really enjoy this soup. I used less brown sugar and less cream cheese than called for -- and added chili powder and a smidgen of nutmeg. Even with the reduction of the sugar, it's still a bit sweet -- almost like hot, liquid pumpkin pie -- but very good. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
If I could give it 10 stars I would! Very Yummy!!! It was super easy to make and very delicious! I cooked my squash the way I always do: cut in 1/2, place cut side up in a baking dish in 1/4 inch water, dotted with butter and sprinkle with salt and pepper cover bake 400 deg. for 30-40 minutes till soft. I also used regular yellow onions and a hand full of brown sugar. Mine was just delicious not too sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I had a similar soup at a local diner & I've been trying to reproduce it ever since. Thanks to this recipe I finally can! This is the best butternut squash soup I've ever had. I used Splenda Brown Sugar rather than the real stuff and low cal cream cheese and it's still out of this world. I added very little instant potatoes to thicken the soup and a pinch of nutmeg. I’ll be making this for Thanksgiving for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I gave this four stars because it was close to perfect. The one drawback for me was how sweet it was. Next time I will probably omit the sugar altogether. I find the squash sweet enough naturally. This recipe is definitely a keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Oh, this was good. Really easy, too! As another person recommended, I cut the sugar and the cream cheese approximately in half. It is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
this recipe was easy and delicious, i also a little curry powder and ginger the second time i made it for a little zip..... loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timotito
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I made this for a Thanksgiving party and received great compliments. Even people who said they don't like soup complimented this. I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Wow,this recipe is a definate keeper! It's a quick and easy recipe to make and follow; resulting in a delicious rich and creamy soup. Very regal in sight, smell and taste. My family just loves it.Now that I've tried out this recipe, I'll surely share it with my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States