Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was a bit too rich, so I made it twice, the second time I used 1 tbsp of butter instead of the asking 3 tbsp. And used half the amount of cream cheese that the recipe called for. It is a delicious soup however, I like it for how simplistic it is to make!!!! I served it with a mixed green avocado salad with maple candied pecans and blue cheese dressing, a wonderful pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I made this soup for a lunch group. It was out of this world good. And it is so easy to make. The ladys all had to have the recipe. I served it hot and added the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This soup is so good. So super yummy. I haven't actually cooked this soup myself, my friend did, and referred me to this website to get the recipe for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I really enjoy this soup. I used less brown sugar and less cream cheese than called for -- and added chili powder and a smidgen of nutmeg. Even with the reduction of the sugar, it's still a bit sweet -- almost like hot, liquid pumpkin pie -- but very good. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Wow,this recipe is a definate keeper! It's a quick and easy recipe to make and follow; resulting in a delicious rich and creamy soup. Very regal in sight, smell and taste. My family just loves it.Now that I've tried out this recipe, I'll surely share it with my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
this recipe was easy and delicious, i also a little curry powder and ginger the second time i made it for a little zip..... loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This is a great recipe. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I gave this four stars because it was close to perfect. The one drawback for me was how sweet it was. Next time I will probably omit the sugar altogether. I find the squash sweet enough naturally. This recipe is definitely a keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
If I could give it 10 stars I would! Very Yummy!!! It was super easy to make and very delicious! I cooked my squash the way I always do: cut in 1/2, place cut side up in a baking dish in 1/4 inch water, dotted with butter and sprinkle with salt and pepper cover bake 400 deg. for 30-40 minutes till soft. I also used regular yellow onions and a hand full of brown sugar. Mine was just delicious not too sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Great soup for fall weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States