Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Absolutely amazing. I can't wait for fall to roll around just so I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pecatonica, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellerefinnej

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I used 3/4 a block of cream cheese, 2 tbsp is brown sugar, a pinch of cinnamon, a pinch of curry, and a good bit of Tonys chacheres. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent recipe, only thing I changed is to subsitute maple syrop for the brown sugar. I also added one and half chopped roasted red pepper, it adds color and a nice finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Delicious! I cut the cream cheese in half and used lowfat to cut calories. Added a dash of cayenne pepper. Like many others suggested, sugar could also be decreased and the recipe wouldn't suffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Delicious! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
But I did make some of the changes suggested, decreased butter to 1 Tbsp, increased onion, used a mango curry dip sauce(from Epicure Selections) to add seasoning - 1 Tbsp, decreased the brown sugar and cream cheese, and added fresh grated ginger too. In addition, I only used acorn squash because I didn't have any butternut. I made 1/2 the recipe. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Easy but too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
AMAZING! Dairy free modifications with a SE Asian spin! I can't have milk products, so I mixed this up a bit. 1. I roasted the onion (halved) with the squash to give it an extra layer of flavor. I did this a day in advance to save time, and stored the scooped squash and onion in the fridge. 2. Next day: Added canola oil to my soup pot and (instead of butter) and sautéed the diced roasted onion, also with 4 heads of garlic and 2-3 Tbs fresh ginger, diced. 3. I left out the cream cheese and cinnamon. To the pot, I added the broth, squash, 2/3 c coconut milk, 1/4 cup turbinado sugar and 2 tsp curry powder. I let this all simmer for an hour or so (could be less), then used an immersion blender to blend. One of the best soups I've ever made at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made it as written and, to me, it was too sweet and too cream cheesy. Made it again a few weeks later without the sugar and used 1/2 cup of half and half instead of the cream cheese. Much better... If you were thinking of boiling the squash instead of roasting, just know that the roasting adds so much more flavor; much better to roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antoinette Katora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Point, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States