Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very yummy. I ended up using 3 different squash: acorn, red kuru, and buttercup. It was delicious and I didn't need to adjust any of the measurements. I would recommend adding a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very simple to make, and it has a nice creamy, sweet taste. I reduced the amount of butter and cream cheese so that it was a little less rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Donohue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
How I messed it up: It was a busy day and I got into cooking it late. Then I discovered that there was no cream cheese. So all I did was the squash and broth that night. I also used a yellow onion and was having acid reflux all night from one tablespoon of it. How I fixed it: I only used 3 cans of broth so I only had to use half the cream cheese, which is awesome because that cuts down your fat grams. I also added ground ginger to aide in digestion, ground clove, cinnamon, Mrs. Dash seasoning and freeze dried chives. I've never succeeded in making soup before. Never. The best I can do is ramen, and half the time I overcook that. So this recipe is something you need to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Wow, this soup is amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This soup is perfect for the Fall season, it's very rich, so instead of diluting I blended in some crushed red pepper for a kick and it was amazing! I am adding it to my Thanksgiving menu this year for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I only used 3 ounces of Cream cheese because sadly that's all I had on hand and it still came out great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I am not a fan of squash soup, but since we got bombarded by squash from my CSA I was determined to use them. This recipe was great! Rich, creamy, and I used a dash of cinnamon. Too much cinnamon would have ruined this for me. My husband loved it, he was "impressed"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Lovely soup! The best part about this recipe is how easily it is adjusted to suit each family's tastes. I took the advice of another reviewer and waited until the end to add brown sugar, bit by bit until I reached the level of sweetness that was right for us. I also used 4 oz of Neufchatel cheese instead of 8 oz cream cheese and only about half a quart of chicken broth. Thank you for this excellent and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera M. Lindquist
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I am new to squash but this recipe is off the chain!!! I did tweek it a little by roasting the squash sliced side up and seasoned, and I substituted the cream cheese with greek yogart,used less berown sugar, added fresh ginger. Next time I'll eliminate the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was ok. The 1/3 cup sugar is way too much though. For a more bisque-like flavor, I'd replace the cream cheese with heavy cream instead. Maybe the addition of garlic would give it some more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States