Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up my 3 acorn squashes and extra large butternut squash. After reading the reviews and noting the "its really sweet" phrase in many posts I used all the squash I had in the recipe. I also used salsa flavored cream cheese instead of the regular cream cheese in the recipe and I made a point to use "no salt added" chicken broth. I thought it tasted great, my 8 year old loved it to, but he said it was pretty sweet but he still liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made this without any of the sugar or cinnamon and it was a big hit. Even my husband who doesn't like squash liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I always thought soups and bisques were out of my league, but this turned out great! I didn't think it was too rich, it's a great appetizer, meal, or side dish. A sure way to impress friends :)Someone else mentioned cooking all ingredients (minus cream cheese) in the crockpot for several hours then blending with cream cheese and I am definitely going to try that next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Tastes exactly like Whole Foods Triple Squash Soup - delicious! Don't leave out the cinnamon even though it's optional. We eat acorn and butternut squash all the time and this recipe is a great way to use up left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mint-Tea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Creamy and just slightly sweet, this almost bisque like texture was a total hit in my house. It's a great way to use squash and was a nice addition to our meal, and then just a regular meal for left overs! Def have to blend it in two batches though, it makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I left out the onions because my husband hates them. I was so surprised how good and easy this was! Baking the squash is definitely the best way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Really really yummy!! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken(vegetarian). I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My husband loves it when I make this! In addition to the cinnamon, I also add a teaspoon or so of Cumin for a little more kick, and with a teaspoon dollop of sour cream for garnish. You can also save some time if your local grocery sells squash already cut in chunks - you can then either: (1) roast them with some butter and spices on them, or (2) boil them until soft. Then proceed with Steps 2-4 above. Once cooked, it also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very yummy. I ended up using 3 different squash: acorn, red kuru, and buttercup. It was delicious and I didn't need to adjust any of the measurements. I would recommend adding a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States