Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I always thought soups and bisques were out of my league, but this turned out great! I didn't think it was too rich, it's a great appetizer, meal, or side dish. A sure way to impress friends :)Someone else mentioned cooking all ingredients (minus cream cheese) in the crockpot for several hours then blending with cream cheese and I am definitely going to try that next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Tastes exactly like Whole Foods Triple Squash Soup - delicious! Don't leave out the cinnamon even though it's optional. We eat acorn and butternut squash all the time and this recipe is a great way to use up left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mint-Tea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Creamy and just slightly sweet, this almost bisque like texture was a total hit in my house. It's a great way to use squash and was a nice addition to our meal, and then just a regular meal for left overs! Def have to blend it in two batches though, it makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I left out the onions because my husband hates them. I was so surprised how good and easy this was! Baking the squash is definitely the best way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Really really yummy!! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken(vegetarian). I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My husband loves it when I make this! In addition to the cinnamon, I also add a teaspoon or so of Cumin for a little more kick, and with a teaspoon dollop of sour cream for garnish. You can also save some time if your local grocery sells squash already cut in chunks - you can then either: (1) roast them with some butter and spices on them, or (2) boil them until soft. Then proceed with Steps 2-4 above. Once cooked, it also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very yummy. I ended up using 3 different squash: acorn, red kuru, and buttercup. It was delicious and I didn't need to adjust any of the measurements. I would recommend adding a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very simple to make, and it has a nice creamy, sweet taste. I reduced the amount of butter and cream cheese so that it was a little less rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Donohue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
How I messed it up: It was a busy day and I got into cooking it late. Then I discovered that there was no cream cheese. So all I did was the squash and broth that night. I also used a yellow onion and was having acid reflux all night from one tablespoon of it. How I fixed it: I only used 3 cans of broth so I only had to use half the cream cheese, which is awesome because that cuts down your fat grams. I also added ground ginger to aide in digestion, ground clove, cinnamon, Mrs. Dash seasoning and freeze dried chives. I've never succeeded in making soup before. Never. The best I can do is ramen, and half the time I overcook that. So this recipe is something you need to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States