Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
my daughter served this soup and everyone --(even the picky ones) licked their bowls clean---thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
The perfect autumn soup! Saved the calories and deleted the cream cheese and used only a tbs of sugar. A sprinkle of ginger added a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made exactly as written. Felt it was lacking flavor. Worth trying again with suggestions from others
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I would also omit the sugar as others had mentioned. You can always add it back in the end if you still think you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My wife and I use cream instead of cream cheese and absolutely LOVE this recipe as a fall favorite! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Delicious and easy recipe. I also cut the brown sugar to 1/4c and used only half of the low fat cream cheese. I like a bit of kick and added chili powder and twice the amount of pepper. For garnish, I brown butter and add a bit of fresh sage with a few sprinkles of Sriracha. - CM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
The soup was good! My husband absolutely loved it. The only thing I did different was I just added a small pinch of brown sugar opposed to 1/3 cup (I know the squash is sweet in itself) and instead of cinnamon, I used cayenne pepper. Sweet and spicy deliciousness! :) I served it with grilled cheese... I picked up some white cheddar with cracked pepper in it and added spinach to it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This soup is delicious. I make it vegan for my sister's family by using vegan margarine and vegan cream cheese. I also add about 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and a couple of dashes of red pepper, which is a nice blend with the brown sugar and cinnamon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Very yummy, but I agree with the other reviews that say it's a little sweet. I will make it again with a little less cream cheese and sugar and a little more pepper. Might try the cayenne, too! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Love, love, love! The only thing I did differently was adding 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a dash of freshly grated nutmeg MMMMMMM. I personally like this soup thick so next time I would cut down on the chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States