Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My wife and I use cream instead of cream cheese and absolutely LOVE this recipe as a fall favorite! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Delicious and easy recipe. I also cut the brown sugar to 1/4c and used only half of the low fat cream cheese. I like a bit of kick and added chili powder and twice the amount of pepper. For garnish, I brown butter and add a bit of fresh sage with a few sprinkles of Sriracha. - CM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
The soup was good! My husband absolutely loved it. The only thing I did different was I just added a small pinch of brown sugar opposed to 1/3 cup (I know the squash is sweet in itself) and instead of cinnamon, I used cayenne pepper. Sweet and spicy deliciousness! :) I served it with grilled cheese... I picked up some white cheddar with cracked pepper in it and added spinach to it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This soup is delicious. I make it vegan for my sister's family by using vegan margarine and vegan cream cheese. I also add about 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and a couple of dashes of red pepper, which is a nice blend with the brown sugar and cinnamon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Very yummy, but I agree with the other reviews that say it's a little sweet. I will make it again with a little less cream cheese and sugar and a little more pepper. Might try the cayenne, too! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Love, love, love! The only thing I did differently was adding 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a dash of freshly grated nutmeg MMMMMMM. I personally like this soup thick so next time I would cut down on the chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I really liked this and will recommend it to others on that participate in Bountiful Baskets. What i did differently, part choice and part unintentional, eliminate the onion, reduced the cream cheese, eliminated salt, black pepper, and parsley garnish. My son said this tasted like Thanksgiving dinner and I have to say, that is fairly accurate. The blend of the squash, the hint of cinnamon and slight sweetness, the richness created by adding cream cheese and butter, and the nice addition of chicken flavor certainly made this a filling and satisfying soup. You may decide to have a big bowl and pass on the crusty French bread -I did. Wishing I could can the extra. What I didn't like. The amount of squash is too vague. The butternut and acorn squash I had on hand were tiny in comparison to what they sell in the grocery store. I opted to cook all that I had and am thinking about making another batch to put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
creamy and robust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a delicious and easy recipe.It makes up for the last several soup recipes I've tried & didn't like.I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe.Too good just the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This came out absolutely beautiful and delicious. I didn't have any cream cheese on hand and used milk instead. I like creamy soups so next time I'll try it with the cream cheese, but only use half the package. A whole package seems like it might be overpowering, considering it is still delicious with none at all. I love using roasted garlic in my soups as well so I roasted a head of garlic with the squash and threw the garlic in the food processor too. I roasted the seeds from inside the squash and sprinkled them over the top for a nice crunch. Served with homemade sweet potato biscuits for a really impressive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States