Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Wow,this recipe is a definate keeper! It's a quick and easy recipe to make and follow; resulting in a delicious rich and creamy soup. Very regal in sight, smell and taste. My family just loves it.Now that I've tried out this recipe, I'll surely share it with my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
If I could give it 10 stars I would! Very Yummy!!! It was super easy to make and very delicious! I cooked my squash the way I always do: cut in 1/2, place cut side up in a baking dish in 1/4 inch water, dotted with butter and sprinkle with salt and pepper cover bake 400 deg. for 30-40 minutes till soft. I also used regular yellow onions and a hand full of brown sugar. Mine was just delicious not too sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I love homemade soups and this one was definitely worth the effort. I took some reviewers' suggestions and used half the cream cheese and added some ginger to sautee with the onion. I had very large squashes, so I needed a cup or so more chicken stock to have a good consistency. My boyfriend put it best, though, "It smells warm. Mmmmm."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I had a similar soup at a local diner & I've been trying to reproduce it ever since. Thanks to this recipe I finally can! This is the best butternut squash soup I've ever had. I used Splenda Brown Sugar rather than the real stuff and low cal cream cheese and it's still out of this world. I added very little instant potatoes to thicken the soup and a pinch of nutmeg. I’ll be making this for Thanksgiving for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
this was awesome! i also added some diced chicken and tortellini to the soup to make it more hearty. we loved it! and it's a BREEZE to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timotito
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I made this for a Thanksgiving party and received great compliments. Even people who said they don't like soup complimented this. I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I made this soup for a lunch group. It was out of this world good. And it is so easy to make. The ladys all had to have the recipe. I served it hot and added the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This soup is so good. So super yummy. I haven't actually cooked this soup myself, my friend did, and referred me to this website to get the recipe for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Great soup for fall weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
A huge hit at Thanksgiving - even my 4 year old liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States