Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yum! The first time making this soup I followed the recipe as written. It was absolutely wonderful. Today when I made the soup I used less brown sugar and butter than the recipe called for and substituted tofu for the cream cheese. The end result just as good. This soup freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Love this soup! We're vegetarian so I use vegetable broth instead of chicken, more onion than the recipe calls for, and less brown sugar. My family loves it too. It has become a fall and Thanksgiving staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was awesome! I altered it a bit to make it healthier. I did not use any butter, and I used weightwatchers cream cheese & splenda brown sugar; and it still tasted rich and flavorful. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was my first time making squash soup. I'm usually afraid of soup because it comes out so thick and never loose enough. But this was sooo good and so perfect. I changed some things. I caramelized the onion in the butter (not just until tender). I transfered the onion to my blender and added 8 cups water and 5 buillion cubes for the broth and let that boil. I added the rest of the ingredients to the blender including: I added a can evaporated milk. I used a bit less sugar. Added a generous dash of cayenne and a dash of ginger. I served it with freshly baked cheddar cheese bread and my family enjoyed it tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great! I did, however, make some changes. I put in half the amount of cream cheese, used chicken base--and made it strong--for the broth, and added curry powder. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
We all LOVED this soup. I did omit the brown sugar as I found that the squashes were quite sweet enough, and I added 1 tsp smoked seasoned salt towards the end. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Simple recipe, perfect for the winter. I added nutmeg which made it much better, also lightened up on the cream cheese and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Recipe was easy to make. I thought it tasted too much of cream cheese, but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Weaver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I happened to have both a butternut squash and an acorn squash so I selected this recipe. I used this as a guide and came up with what we thought was a nice variation. My butternut squash was quite large and wasn’t soft enough after baking it for 45 minutes. I didn’t realize this until I was scooping the flesh from the skin and it was too late to put it back in the oven. So I added the chicken broth to the squash flesh and simmered it covered for another 45 minutes. Then I used my emersion blender and it smoothed out beautifully. It was way too thick, so I added another can of chicken broth. I used no sugar at all, as I thought it was sweet enough on it’s own. Instead of cream cheese, I just added some milk. My result was a nice squash soup that wasn’t too sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
If there were more than five stars, I would have rated this recipe higher. It has all the elements I look for: it's simple, nutritious and delicious! I will adjust the sugar/seasonings to taste... Maybe try curry powder instead of cinnamon next time, but honestly... I LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States