Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
love love love and will definitely do again. using the processor made this a sinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was easy & delicious! I added an extra acorn squash, and used greek yogurt cream cheese, otherwise kept it the same. I will absolutely make this again!!! Perfect for a chilly winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Because of the different sizes of squash, sometime 1 quart of chicken broth is too much. So error on too little broth when mixing in the food processor. You can always add more broth when warming it. I use more cinnamon (to taste) and more onion (almost a full medium size one). So rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by holly
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The soup was excellent. It was very easy to make, I followed the recipe with every step except the onions. I don't do onions, so I substituted with onion power. I will definitely be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I LOVED this soup! It was delicious and super easy. To cook the squash, I simply washed the outsides and baked them on a baking sheet at 400 degrees for one hour. After baking, it was effortless to slice them in half and scoop out the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This soup was good and even better the next day! I too reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup packed, the butter to 2 tbsp and the cream cheese to about 6oz. Also added some cayenne pepper....other than that, followed the recipe. A real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is a great recipe! I've made it twice within the past week, with a couple modifications. Before cooking, I prepped my squash by brushing it with olive oil and seasoning with sea salt and pepper. I reduced the amount of sugar to to 1/4 cup, and it came out just sweet enough. Since I like a thicker squash soup, I made a quick roux (2 tbs. butter, 2 tbs. flour) and stirred it into the soup until it was nice and thick. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I did 1/2 the cream cheese and it was still too rich for my taste. It would be good as a small appetizer with a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Good starting point soup. A bit sweet for my taste. Roasted squash in a smoker at 240 with mesquite. Added chipotle and smoked poblano pepper. Reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan Lipscy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
So amazing love this soup cut back on cream cheese and I topped with aisian croutons soy flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States