Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
love love love and will definitely do again. using the processor made this a sinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was easy & delicious! I added an extra acorn squash, and used greek yogurt cream cheese, otherwise kept it the same. I will absolutely make this again!!! Perfect for a chilly winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Because of the different sizes of squash, sometime 1 quart of chicken broth is too much. So error on too little broth when mixing in the food processor. You can always add more broth when warming it. I use more cinnamon (to taste) and more onion (almost a full medium size one). So rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by holly
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The soup was excellent. It was very easy to make, I followed the recipe with every step except the onions. I don't do onions, so I substituted with onion power. I will definitely be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I LOVED this soup! It was delicious and super easy. To cook the squash, I simply washed the outsides and baked them on a baking sheet at 400 degrees for one hour. After baking, it was effortless to slice them in half and scoop out the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This soup was good and even better the next day! I too reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup packed, the butter to 2 tbsp and the cream cheese to about 6oz. Also added some cayenne pepper....other than that, followed the recipe. A real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is a great recipe! I've made it twice within the past week, with a couple modifications. Before cooking, I prepped my squash by brushing it with olive oil and seasoning with sea salt and pepper. I reduced the amount of sugar to to 1/4 cup, and it came out just sweet enough. Since I like a thicker squash soup, I made a quick roux (2 tbs. butter, 2 tbs. flour) and stirred it into the soup until it was nice and thick. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I did 1/2 the cream cheese and it was still too rich for my taste. It would be good as a small appetizer with a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Good starting point soup. A bit sweet for my taste. Roasted squash in a smoker at 240 with mesquite. Added chipotle and smoked poblano pepper. Reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan Lipscy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
So amazing love this soup cut back on cream cheese and I topped with aisian croutons soy flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States