Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by holly
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The soup was excellent. It was very easy to make, I followed the recipe with every step except the onions. I don't do onions, so I substituted with onion power. I will definitely be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I LOVED this soup! It was delicious and super easy. To cook the squash, I simply washed the outsides and baked them on a baking sheet at 400 degrees for one hour. After baking, it was effortless to slice them in half and scoop out the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This soup was good and even better the next day! I too reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup packed, the butter to 2 tbsp and the cream cheese to about 6oz. Also added some cayenne pepper....other than that, followed the recipe. A real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is a great recipe! I've made it twice within the past week, with a couple modifications. Before cooking, I prepped my squash by brushing it with olive oil and seasoning with sea salt and pepper. I reduced the amount of sugar to to 1/4 cup, and it came out just sweet enough. Since I like a thicker squash soup, I made a quick roux (2 tbs. butter, 2 tbs. flour) and stirred it into the soup until it was nice and thick. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I did 1/2 the cream cheese and it was still too rich for my taste. It would be good as a small appetizer with a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Good starting point soup. A bit sweet for my taste. Roasted squash in a smoker at 240 with mesquite. Added chipotle and smoked poblano pepper. Reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan Lipscy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
So amazing love this soup cut back on cream cheese and I topped with aisian croutons soy flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I followed others suggestions and made this with only 2 oz. fat free cream cheese. It is definitely a keeper and was just sweet enough! My family enjoys it with a side salad and it is the perfect soup and salad combo on a chilly evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katieandbrent
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My kids love it! We made squash bread bowls to put it in, yummy! Thanks new winter favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I received a butternut squash and an acorn squash as part of a seasonal produce delivery and decided upon this recipe to use them. The procedure was fairly simple and the end product was SOOOOO GOOD!!! My husband doesn't usually like squash / sweet potato / pumpkin type foods, but he LOVED this. I plan to make it again on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States