Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I used 2 C white flour and 1 1/3 whole wheat, and it was still very moist and yummy. I think I'd have the buttermilk at room temp next time as I had to let it raise longer in the bread machine that my dough cycle allows (took it out and baked in reg loaf pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a wonderful, hearty bread that I will bake over and over again. Instead of baking in bread machine, my sister instructed me to remove after the dough cycle, knead gently and allow bread (covered with towel)to rest on sprayed countertop for 10 minutes. Place in greased loaf pan, score, cover with towel and allow to rest 20 minutes. Proceed baking in preheated 350 degree oven approx. 25 - 30 minutes or until golden brown and crusty. I create steam in oven which makes bread nice and crusty but this step is not necessary. This bread is always a BIG success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very good and one of the easiest bread recipes I've come by. One negative is the yeast amount should be increased to 2 1/2 teaspoons. I followed the recipe the first time and it took way too long to rise. I did NOT use a bread machine. If making by hand, just throw all the ingredients into one bowl and mix. No need to proof the yeast, it will still rise (make sure yeast is fresh). I've kneaded this both by hand and using a dough hook for a good 5 min. This dough comes together well and is not sticky, so kneading by hand is a cinch. Instead of using extra flour when kneading, which can toughen and dry the finished product, spray your hands with PAM or oil and knead that way. No sticking and no extra flour needed. I let this rise in a warm oven until doubled, then rise a 2nd time in a (9x5) loaf pan. Baked at 350 for 20 min. Brush with butter when it comes out and cover loosely with foil to soften the outer crust. Great crumb and texture. I will make again. TIP - I use 2 cups white flour and the rest wheat flour. As a general rule, I always add one tablespoon powdered gluten for every cup of wheat flour I use in any recipe. This keeps the bread nice and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I had some leftover buttermilk so I decided to give this recipe a try. I doubled the recipe to make two loaves and made it the old fashioned way (without the bread machine). It turned out beautifully. Rose very well and the finished bread is very tender and light. One tip that works well with any bread is to butter the tops immediately after removing from the oven, take the loaves out the pans and cover then with a wet tea towel to cool. The wet towel adds moisture to the crust and makes it very soft and tender when done. Enjoyed this recipe very much and will probably have to buy buttermilk in the future for the purpose of making this bread. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I used this because I had buttermilk I needed to use up, I just pulled it out of the oven and must say it's very tasty.. I'm really glad I found this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Delicous Flavor!! The bread was a little dense. I think it needed more needing time. Next time i will try heating the buttermilk to see if it cuts down on the rising time. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This bread was excellent, and has now replaced my old favorite white bread recipe. I use the powdered buttermilk instead of fresh, and it comes out soft and delicious. Next time I'm going to try adding a little honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellent!! This bread was gobbled up and we are on our second loaf! It was a great toasting bread that had a great taste and texture. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I didn't use a bread mixer for this. I wanted a wheat bread recipe with buttermilk and this was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Absolutely my go-to recipe for the older model (upright) breadmaker my cousin picked up at a garage sale. The recipe fills the pan perfectly, smells divine while baking, and when I have buttermilk on hand I always make sure to bake a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States