Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very tasty bread... I had no buttermilk on hand - used lowfat instead with a little bit of vinegar and it came out fine. Will definitely make again, would love to try with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My family loves it! I used brown sugar instead of white sugar but other than that I used the originally provided recipe. I am making one right now because my kids want it for breakfast. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My best attempt at bread to date! Everything I wanted in a bread; soft, great tasting, good crust! And without the use of a bread machine. Thank You MSACEBAKER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I only had all purpose flour, and my machine has a max allowance of 4 cups of flours, so I used 4 cups. When it was done I brushed it with butter, and it's without a doubt the best bread I've ever had, and certainly the best thing that's come out of my bread maker. Thanks for the nudge in the right direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april3084

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
We really like this recipe. I don't have a bread machine, so I made it by hand and baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 min. Turns out great and tastes great! Good bread for french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Definitely the salt needs to increase to 1 or 1 1/2 tsp. Made into baguettes and mixed the dough with hands. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was great! really filling but next time i'll make some modifications for the altitude difference, it was a little dense for me up here at 7,000 ft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Great tasting bread! I was looking for a recipe to use up some buttermilk and came across this one. I'm so glad I did! I used 1 1/3 cups wheat flour & 2 cups white flour. Baked in out my basic white bread setting in my breadmaker. It turned out so moist and light! Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I cook this in a bread machine and it works great. I also replace the buttermilk with 1 cup of plain yogurt mixed with either water or milk to make 1.5 cups. I don't normally have buttermilk in the house, but I always have plain yogurt. It works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I just made this in my bread machine - turned out GREAT. I didn't have buttermilk, so I just added vinegar to skim milk, let it sit for 10 minutes, and then used it. I used only 1 c regular flour, and the rest whole wheat. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States