Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I only had all purpose flour, and my machine has a max allowance of 4 cups of flours, so I used 4 cups. When it was done I brushed it with butter, and it's without a doubt the best bread I've ever had, and certainly the best thing that's come out of my bread maker. Thanks for the nudge in the right direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april3084

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
We really like this recipe. I don't have a bread machine, so I made it by hand and baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 min. Turns out great and tastes great! Good bread for french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Definitely the salt needs to increase to 1 or 1 1/2 tsp. Made into baguettes and mixed the dough with hands. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was great! really filling but next time i'll make some modifications for the altitude difference, it was a little dense for me up here at 7,000 ft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Great tasting bread! I was looking for a recipe to use up some buttermilk and came across this one. I'm so glad I did! I used 1 1/3 cups wheat flour & 2 cups white flour. Baked in out my basic white bread setting in my breadmaker. It turned out so moist and light! Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I cook this in a bread machine and it works great. I also replace the buttermilk with 1 cup of plain yogurt mixed with either water or milk to make 1.5 cups. I don't normally have buttermilk in the house, but I always have plain yogurt. It works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I just made this in my bread machine - turned out GREAT. I didn't have buttermilk, so I just added vinegar to skim milk, let it sit for 10 minutes, and then used it. I used only 1 c regular flour, and the rest whole wheat. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
fantastic bread, we ate it while it was still warm with butter, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREATBRITUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I used 2 C white flour and 1 1/3 whole wheat, and it was still very moist and yummy. I think I'd have the buttermilk at room temp next time as I had to let it raise longer in the bread machine that my dough cycle allows (took it out and baked in reg loaf pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a wonderful, hearty bread that I will bake over and over again. Instead of baking in bread machine, my sister instructed me to remove after the dough cycle, knead gently and allow bread (covered with towel)to rest on sprayed countertop for 10 minutes. Place in greased loaf pan, score, cover with towel and allow to rest 20 minutes. Proceed baking in preheated 350 degree oven approx. 25 - 30 minutes or until golden brown and crusty. I create steam in oven which makes bread nice and crusty but this step is not necessary. This bread is always a BIG success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States