Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Enjoyable to make and it has a wonderful taste and texture. I don't have a bread machine, so I put it in the oven at 350 until the knife came out clean. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent bread. Loved the tang that the buttermilk gave it. I used 2 cups white flour and the rest whole wheat. I used the bread machine to make the dough, then put it in a loaf pan and baked for about 25 minutes @ 350º. The second loaf I made, I let it rise a second time, punched it down then put it in the loaf pan. I think it came out a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I don't have a bread machine, but it turns out great when I make it by hand. The first time I made it, I stuck to the recipe, and though I liked it, I thought it was a bit bland. So because of that I make the following changes: 2 T butter, 2 T honey (in addition to the sugar), 1 tsp salt, and 1 cup whole wheat flour (the rest white). I think these changes made it tastier. I've also made them into rolls (12), and we liked those even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
not enoughh wheat flavor for me, I added an extra half tsp. of yeast, rose well but then fell alittle, overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
1st strike is that the directions only work for a bread machine. 2nd strike is that the recipe calls for 6 hours of cooking time. This has to be a mistake. Finally, there's no instructions on what order to put the ingredients in, it just says to check with your manufacturer, not very user friendly especially when other bread recipes are so much more helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davis Freeberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I've made this bread several times and really like the texture and flavor. The recipe is a tad too big for my machine - the top overflows and is undone. I'll get around to experimenting with yeast and flour amounts one day, but until then, I just cut off the top and enjoy the rest of the loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpottedSparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I made this last evening and it turned out wonderful. I will definately be making this again. Thanks for this great bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I just got a bread machine and am a novice to cooking in general. I had some leftover buttermilk and decided to try this recipe. It was the easiest thing in the world and the bread came out perfect!! Light and crunchy crust, moist and chewy on the inside - Delicious!!! Oh, and I did warm up the buttermilk first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
added 1/4C wheat germ to make it healthier. Incredibly moist and delicious. Perfect with homemade soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I don't have a bread machine, so I bake mine in the oven at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes (or until a toothpick inserted near the middle comes out clean). We absolutely love this bread! I've made it twice now and it comes out somewhat heavy, but I'm using mill-ground Wheat Flour, which probably makes a difference. However, I made this for Thanksgiving with my boyfriend's family and out of the 3 loaves I made, this was everyone's favorite. I almost made it the following weekend for a get-together and even the kids were getting third helpings! I will continue to make this bread since everyone keeps requesting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Suffield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States