Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by BatikWindmillTurban
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
WOW! Soft. Moist. The little bit of wheat flour made a big difference in making the bread a little more tasty. I increased the yeast and sugar as others said. I kneaded it for 10 minutes, mainly using oil on my hands. I only needed a bit of flour on the surface towards the end of my kneading. I let it rise covered in a warmed oven until my 2 fingers pushed into the top left an indentation. I dont have a loaf pan so I decided to make a freeform loaf. So I pushed the bread with my finger tips into a big rectangle, letting the air out ("punching" dough is not literal). I rolled it like an egg roll, put it seam side down in a lightly oiled pyrex, and I put it back in the residual heat in the oven for a half hour. I took it out, cut slits on top, brushed with milk, and baked it at 350 until the top was lightly browned. Next time I would put cornmeal on the bottom or oil it more than I did. I buttered it when it was finished to keep the crust soft, but next time I wont because the slight crust on the bottom was so good. Im proud of my work-this is what allrecipes is about! I just had pb & j....and I am looking for an excuse to have another slice. :) 11/1/10: I am still making this. Recently I used the yeast specified in the recipe. It didnt rise much after I shaped it into a ball, so I flattened it and let it rise an additional time before shaping it for the third rise. It actually came our better this way (original yeast amount, extra rise in between). Check b4 and after photos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This bread recipe turned out absolutely perfect, just as it is written. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Not quite as good as the other recipe. I did use 1 cup of ww flour, so maybe try again for the white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This bread was fabulous! Excellent recipe! I made using the ingredients listed and in their original measurements. I don't have a bread machine, so I mixed with my Kitchen Aid mixer, let rise and bake. It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I have made this over 20 times and for good reason. It dissapears fast. It is great out of the oven and good the next day for sandwitches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
If I didn't have a favorite Italian bread recipe I generally use this recipe could easily become a staple. I thought it was short on salt and yeast so I increased both without straying from the recipe too much - 1 tsp. salt and two tsp. yeast. I kept the measurements of all else the same but used bread flour for the all-purpose flour by accident (it's called making assumptions and not reading the recipe carefully - again). In any case, this is all you'd want in a basic, everyday bread. It rose, baked and sliced nicely and has great flavor (I DO think it needed that extra salt). I'm not a big fan of whole wheat bread, much preferring white bread, so this was perfect for me with its mere 1/3 cup of whole wheat flour. So if you're thinking this is a hearty whole wheat bread, choose a different recipe - or use this one, with half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose (or bread flour). No matter how you slice it (ha!) this is a great bread, one of the better ones I've tried from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very tasty! I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and the rest unbleached white. I warmed the buttermilk, butter,and sugar on the stove, then poured it in with the yeast. The dough was pretty stiff to knead, but rose beautifully on each rise, and baked up into a very tall, soft loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My grandson and I made this bread last night and it turned out great. It makes a wonderful pbj sandwich. I will definitely make this at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
LOVE LOVE Love this bread! The texture is just like store bought sliced bread. I can't believe it but it was just that soft and lovely and sliced up so nice. Only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 10 is I increased the yeast to 2.25 tsp since the written amount just doesn't seem to be enough to do the job, based on other breads I have made from this site. I also used olive oil instead of butter just cause I didn't want to dirty the container to melt the butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Really, REALLY easy. No bread machine, just a Kitchen Aid mixer and oven. I proofed the yeast with the buttermilk and honey (I used honey instead of white sugar) for ten minutes in my mixer bowl, then added the butter, then the combined the flour and salt.....I used all whole wheat. I needed no extra flour to get the dough into a ball but my dough hook had a heck of a time grasping on to this dough. I kneaded it with the hook as best I could for five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased, covered bowl until it doubled on a warm heating pad. When it doubled, I formed the dough into a loaf and set it in a loaf pan and drizzled it with butter and set it to rise again on the warm heating pad. It was a slow riser but the bread smells amazing. Even using all whole wheat, the bread came out soft and springy and the smell when it's baking.....amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States